The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2010, 12:57pm
EEE EEE is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
NFHS vs NCAA

A fumbles the ball the ball at B's 20. The ball rolls and goes out of bounds at B's 15.
NCAA: Bring ball back to the B 20.
NFHS: Ball placed at the B 15.

Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2010, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
You are correct on NFHS...A will have the ball at the 15.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 27, 2010, 09:56pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,981
Correct for NCAA as well.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2010, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 105
that is true, however, not true on the fourth down fumble rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2010, 02:36pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jophyal View Post
that is true, however, not true on the fourth down fumble rule.
In which ruleset is the initial answer not correct on 4th down?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 01:18pm
tow tow is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 01:32pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by tow View Post
NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.
Of course it does, but you still take the ball back to where it was fumbled if it is fourth down.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 05:12pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,531
Wink

Quote:
Having a conversation with you is like a Martian talking to a Fungo.
- Crash Davis

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Of course it does, but you still take the ball back to where it was fumbled if it is fourth down.
A forward fumble out of bounds is returned to the spot of the fumble regardless of the down AND if it is under 2 minutes, you wind the clock as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2010, 02:58pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by tow View Post
NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.
I'm aware of that ... your point?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by refbuz View Post
A forward fumble out of bounds is returned to the spot of the fumble regardless of the down AND if it is under 2 minutes, you wind the clock as well.
Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge View Post
Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap
Yes. My first thoughts after reading the first post.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 17, 2010, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljudge View Post
Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap
I'm not implying anything.

I thought that it was obvious that if A retains possession we are winding any time the ball goes OOB above 2 minutes regardless if the fumble was forward or not...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nfhs -> ncaa Berkut Basketball 14 Sat Nov 28, 2009 01:32pm
NCAA No...NFHS Yes? Jeff the Ref Basketball 11 Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:19pm
NFHS vs. NCAA I love this game Basketball 9 Tue Dec 07, 2004 09:46am
NCAA vs. NFHS rules CecilOne Softball 8 Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:23pm
NCAA/NFHS rburn22281 Basketball 17 Tue Jun 04, 2002 12:41pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1