The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS vs NCAA (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59889-nfhs-vs-ncaa.html)

EEE Sat Nov 27, 2010 12:57pm

NFHS vs NCAA
 
A fumbles the ball the ball at B's 20. The ball rolls and goes out of bounds at B's 15.
NCAA: Bring ball back to the B 20.
NFHS: Ball placed at the B 15.

Correct?

footballref Sat Nov 27, 2010 05:58pm

You are correct on NFHS...A will have the ball at the 15.

Welpe Sat Nov 27, 2010 09:56pm

Correct for NCAA as well.

jophyal Mon Nov 29, 2010 02:27pm

that is true, however, not true on the fourth down fumble rule.

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 29, 2010 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jophyal (Post 703802)
that is true, however, not true on the fourth down fumble rule.

In which ruleset is the initial answer not correct on 4th down?

tow Tue Nov 30, 2010 01:18pm

NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.

Welpe Tue Nov 30, 2010 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tow (Post 703967)
NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.

Of course it does, but you still take the ball back to where it was fumbled if it is fourth down.

HLin NC Tue Nov 30, 2010 05:12pm

Quote:

Having a conversation with you is like a Martian talking to a Fungo.
- Crash Davis

:confused:

refbuz Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 703977)
Of course it does, but you still take the ball back to where it was fumbled if it is fourth down.

A forward fumble out of bounds is returned to the spot of the fumble regardless of the down AND if it is under 2 minutes, you wind the clock as well.

MD Longhorn Thu Dec 02, 2010 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tow (Post 703967)
NCAA has a fourth down fumble rule.

I'm aware of that ... your point?

ljudge Sun Dec 05, 2010 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refbuz (Post 704514)
A forward fumble out of bounds is returned to the spot of the fumble regardless of the down AND if it is under 2 minutes, you wind the clock as well.

Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap

Sonofanump Mon Dec 06, 2010 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ljudge (Post 705345)
Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap

Yes. My first thoughts after reading the first post.

refbuz Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ljudge (Post 705345)
Are you implying if more than 2 minutes remain you go on the snap???

NCAA: Fwd fumble OOB, clock always on the ready
Fed: Any fumble OOB (fwd or bwd), clock always on the snap

I'm not implying anything.

I thought that it was obvious that if A retains possession we are winding any time the ball goes OOB above 2 minutes regardless if the fumble was forward or not...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1