The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 10:41am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Based upon what interpretation?
That is what I will work on digging up.

Logically though it makes sense to me because the pylon is at the intersection of the sideline and the goaline. By rule, a loose ball that hits the pylon is considered out of bounds behind the goal line which tells me that if a ball hits a pylon, at least part of it crossed over the goal line.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
That is what I will work on digging up.

Logically though it makes sense to me because the pylon is at the intersection of the sideline and the goaline. By rule, a loose ball that hits the pylon is considered out of bounds behind the goal line which tells me that if a ball hits a pylon, at least part of it crossed over the goal line.
Yes, but this is only true because the rule regarding a loose ball does not have the OOB rule that a ball carrier does. A loose ball is not OOB when it's airborne until it hits something (player (unairborne, of course), pylon, ground, non-player, chain, etc) and an airborne looseball can be "saved" for lack of a better word.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 11:12am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Yes, but this is only true because the rule regarding a loose ball does not have the OOB rule that a ball carrier does. A loose ball is not OOB when it's airborne until it hits something (player (unairborne, of course), pylon, ground, non-player, chain, etc) and an airborne looseball can be "saved" for lack of a better word.
I don't know that these situations are really all that different though. Consider this, a loose ball (other than a forward pass or forward fumble) that goes out of bounds will be spotted at the point where it crosses the sideline, not where it eventually strikes something that causes it to be out of bounds.

Say you have a punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and due to an unusual circumstance (wind, funny spin, etc), the ball comes back and strikes the pylon on the outward face of the pylon. You are going to have a touchback by rule, even though the ball crossed the sideline at the B-3.

Now we look at a situation where an airborne ball carrier extends the ball across the sideline and touches the same face on the pylon with the ball. Does it stand to reason that this situation is treated the same, that the ball crosses the goal line itself?

I think it does.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I don't know that these situations are really all that different though. Consider this, a loose ball (other than a forward pass or forward fumble) that goes out of bounds will be spotted at the point where it crosses the sideline, not where it eventually strikes something that causes it to be out of bounds.

Say you have a punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and due to an unusual circumstance (wind, funny spin, etc), the ball comes back and strikes the pylon on the outward face of the pylon. You are going to have a touchback by rule, even though the ball crossed the sideline at the B-3.
You just contradicted yourself. You say the loose ball is out of bounds at the spot where it went out of bounds and then illustrate with a case where it isn't. You're right, this is a touchback, by rule, even though it crossed the sideline at the B3. The rules for a grounded loose ball are not the same as for a ball in the arms of a ballcarrier. (Note that an UNgrounded punt also has a special rule to apply so that it does get marked where it went out of bounds).

Quote:
Now we look at a situation where an airborne ball carrier extends the ball across the sideline and touches the same face on the pylon with the ball. Does it stand to reason that this situation is treated the same, that the ball crosses the goal line itself?

I think it does.
No. There is a SPECIFIC rule for a ball carried by a ball carrier (posted above). These 2 cases are by definition treated differently.

But if I were to try to convince you, I'd only repeat myself. I've posted the rule and the AR. If an official were to rule that a ball in possession of the ball carrier that struck the front of the pylon was a TD, in a game where review was possible, it would be overturned.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 12:15pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You just contradicted yourself.
No I didn't. I provided an example that is contrary to the normal convention. Exactly the same as a ball in possession touching a pylon.

Quote:
(Note that an UNgrounded punt also has a special rule to apply so that it does get marked where it went out of bounds).
As an aside, how is an ungrounded punt any different from a grounded punt? They are both spotted where the ball crossed the sideline, not where they touched out of bounds.

You posted an AR that was similar to this situation but not the same.

A question for you. Do you consider the pylon as a part of the goal line or the goal line extended?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
No I didn't. I provided an example that is contrary to the normal convention. Exactly the same as a ball in possession touching a pylon.
Here's what you said: "Consider this, a loose ball (other than a forward pass or forward fumble) that goes out of bounds will be spotted at the point where it crosses the sideline, not where it eventually strikes something that causes it to be out of bounds.

Say you have a punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and due to an unusual circumstance (wind, funny spin, etc), the ball comes back and strikes the pylon on the outward face of the pylon. You are going to have a touchback by rule, even though the ball crossed the sideline at the B-3."

IOW - 1) A loose ball that goes out of bounds will be spoted at the point where it crosses the sideline.
2) A punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and comes back and strikes the pylon... is a touchback by rule."
These statements are contradictory.

Quote:
As an aside, how is an ungrounded punt any different from a grounded punt? They are both spotted where the ball crossed the sideline, not where they touched out of bounds.
Hmmm. Made me re-read. You are correct. The ball is out of bounds at the crossing point. Meaning that the play above the ball should be at the B-3 if the official has the perfect view AND the cohones to call it that way.

Quote:
A question for you. Do you consider the pylon as a part of the goal line or the goal line extended?
No. (If you meant that as an either or, the answer is neither).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 11, 2010, 12:36pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
IOW - 1) A loose ball that goes out of bounds will be spoted at the point where it crosses the sideline.
2) A punt that bounces and crosses the sideline at the B-3 and comes back and strikes the pylon... is a touchback by rule."
These statements are contradictory.
Yes they are, but that's the rule book for you. I see a loose ball that touches the pylon as an exception to the general rule of a ball crossing the sideline plane.

I'll leave the rest alone for now until I can find that reference.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits Bat argodad Softball 8 Mon Oct 11, 2010 02:46pm
Ball hits player already out of bounds Coach Bill Basketball 23 Sun Sep 27, 2009 08:59pm
Bat Hits Ball in Box Armadillo_Blue Baseball 8 Wed May 23, 2007 09:05am
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1