We rule that if the BBTW is on the lineman's immediate charge, the block is legal. When he began his charge, the ball was in the FBZ. I beleive the rule is really designed to penalize cut blocking on a defender that is moving, but to continue to allow initial charge BBTW. Thus the requirement that both players be on the LOS and in the FBZ at the snap. Technically, even though the ball may have left the FBZ, I believe the spirit of the rule is to allow the block.
Just like we give charging tacklers the benefit of the doubt on late hits and roughing the passer, I believe we own the linemen the same consideration. JMHO
But it is an excellent question. I look forward to others' answering.
|