The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Sep 19, 2002, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member

just a lazy quextion becuase i don't feel like looking it up..

I am a coach, can I use poster board signs with words on them to hold up on the sideline to signal plays in?
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 01:44am
Official Forum Member

And it will take the opposition about three seconds to know what your play is.

If you need a poster board to relay signals, you better have your players' eyes checked. Or are they too dumb to understand hand signals?

Bob

[Edited by bluezebra on Sep 20th, 2002 at 03:13 PM]
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 10:38am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by JimNayzium
just a lazy quextion becuase i don't feel like looking it up..

I am a coach, can I use poster board signs with words on them to hold up on the sideline to signal plays in?
Coach,

Rule 1-5-3b prevents electronic or mechanical devices for communications. Therefore, the answer is no.

I must ask the obvious. If you could use a poster board wouldn't that make it possible for the other side in the game and scouts from future games to steal your plays?
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 10:42am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
A poster board is not a mechanical devise. Therefore, there should be no problems with using this to convey a message to the team on the field. IMHO
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member

Last year we had a team do this type of play calling. The offense never huddled up. They always lined up at the LOS and all players looked over to the sideline and one coach held up a "color" and another coach held up a "number". The players all had the plays taped to their forearms. If the play was "blue 66" then all the players looked at their play list and new what the play was.
Old Fri Sep 20, 2002, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member

Cool Illustrated book used to have this.