![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I say his momentum was toward the back of the endzone and the db changed his direction. So 7.5.2k does not fit. Look again, he starts his jump and is going backwards, db hits him FROM THE SIDE and knocks him OOB. When his arms ar up waiting for the ball he is going backwards, pass almost falls short. He catches it in his belly.
COMMENT: When any receiver is close to the sideline and is contacted by an opponent, the covering official must make a decision about where he would have landed without the contact. (4-3-2) 4.3.3 SITUATION B: A has third down and seven yards to gain at B’s 30. A1 leaps near the sideline to catch a pass near B’s 30-yard line. A1 is driven out of bounds backwards by B2 while making the catch and lands outside the sideline at B’s 32. RULING: The covering official must make the following decisions: Did B2’s actions cause A1 to land out of bounds? If the official determines that B2 caused A1 to land out of bounds, then the official must determine forward progress in the field of play and should not stop the clock. If however, the clock is stopped, it should start on the ready because forward progress was stopped in the field of play. If A1 would have landed out of bounds of his own accord, it is an incomplete pass and the clock should be stopped. COMMENT: When any receiver is close to the sideline and is contacted by an opponent, the covering official must make a decision about where he would have landed without the contact. Last edited by bigjohn; Wed Dec 02, 2009 at 02:28pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
That might very well pose a conundrum, because for most of us, the more experience you gain, the better you appreciate and understand that you aren't as smart and all knowing as you think you might be, while you're in the early stages of gaining the experience necessary to really know what you're talking about.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
|
If you pause the video with 7 seconds left, you can see first contact, and at this point, the distance from the foot that would have hit inbounds to the sideline is the same (or greater than!) as the distance that same foot hit the ground beyond the sideline in goal.
Simple physics tells us that because there was an external force applied to the airborne path of the receiver, that his foot most definitely would have had a chance (or definitely would have) to hit inbounds. Good call by the official. This call reminds me of (FJ#80) Gary Gautreaux's call in the SuperBowl. If only this official faced the players to ensure that the receiver maintained contact with the opponent and the ground... it would have been a SuperBowl call.
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
I think the bigger picture is that the force out rule in high school is terrible and needs to be eliminated. It should be the burden of the receiver to catch the ball within the field of play. The NFL and NCAA have recognized this fact and changed their rules. If the "best of the best" aren't expected to split this hair, why are we? Maybe this play will help push the NFHS in that direction.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]()
|
|
|||
|
you seriously think if he doesn't get hit from the side that he does get a foot down in bounds?
Talk about vision problems! It is plain to see the ball is caught in bounds and he is coming down in bounds when he is contacted by the defender. PLAIN AS DAY! |
|
|||
|
Oh I have no doubt that if he doesn't get hit, he comes down in bounds. But that is completely irrelevant as the airborne receiver's momentum is towards the sideline and that is the direction he was pushed.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
And just to show how much of a judgment call this is, I have no doubt he would have come down out of bounds anyway without contact. The contact was not that significant. I also agree it's irrelevant for the reason you mention but I did not remember that part of the rule when I was at the game. If I had been that official making the call I would have only applied the judgment of whether he would have landed in or out. At the time I thought out and disagreed with his call but understood it as a judgment call he had to make.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| State Championship Assignment | walter | Basketball | 6 | Sun Feb 24, 2008 02:00pm |
| LL State Championship | JefferMC | Softball | 6 | Wed Jul 04, 2007 09:13am |
| State Championship Game | lildani14 | Softball | 15 | Fri Jul 23, 2004 01:46pm |
| Washington State Girls Championship | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 15 | Thu Mar 20, 2003 05:37pm |
| State Championship | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 5 | Wed Mar 08, 2000 03:36am |