The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 07:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
Touchback or Safety?

A has the ball 2nd and 4 on their own 5 yd line. A1 takes the snap and hands to A2.
A2 fumbles and while the ball is loose B3 attempts to recover, dives on and muffs, and the ball goes into and through the back of the endzone.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Since the fumble by A2 was grounded, the covering official must determine if the muff by B3 supplied a new force that caused the ball to enter A's end zone. If so, it would be a touchback. 8-5-3c
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33 View Post
Since the fumble by A2 was grounded, the covering official must determine if the muff by B3 supplied a new force that caused the ball to enter A's end zone. If so, it would be a touchback. 8-5-3c
As suggested, this is purely a judgment call. As pointed out the key factor is whether the loose ball has been grounded. If so, "After a fumble, kick or backward pass has been grounded, a new force may result from a bat, an illegal kick or a muff." (NF: 2-13-1)

NF: 2-13-3, "The muffing or batting of a pass, kick or fumble in flight is not considered a new force".

NF: 2-13 is one of those rules it is worth rereading, carefully, from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 08:09pm
sp279
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lancaster County, Pa.
Posts: 20
touchback or safety

Correct me if I'm wrong, but unless the offensive team caused the ball to go out of bound in the end zone (after the fumble they would have had to had some action to touch the ball again to direct it out of bounds), it can only be a touchback if the defensive team knocks it out of bounds. Or, a touchdown obviously if they recover it in the end zone.
Don't forget on that call if the offense is last to touch it before it goes out of bounds it would be a safety I believe.

We had a call like that 2 x's this year and it's a tough call with 7 people batting that thing around trying to decide where and when(and by who) the new action takes place. Either way, 10 yards is a long way to bat that thing around. It would be so much easier if it was just clearly kicked out!

Hey, if anyone disagrees, I'm here to learn to!

Thanks
__________________
"Not asking for help doesn't mean your perfect-it means you quit trying to get better."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
NCAA it is a safety as the impetus is charged to the fumbler
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 14, 2009, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by sp279 View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but unless the offensive team caused the ball to go out of bound in the end zone (after the fumble they would have had to had some action to touch the ball again to direct it out of bounds), it can only be a touchback if the defensive team knocks it out of bounds. Or, a touchdown obviously if they recover it in the end zone.
Don't forget on that call if the offense is last to touch it before it goes out of bounds it would be a safety I believe.
It has nothing to do with who is the last to touch it.

If A1 fumbled the ball and it was rolling toward the end zone, B's touch might not be considered a new force. If the R judged the fumble put the ball into the end zone, then it would be a safety if it goes through the EZ and OOB, irregardless of who touched it last.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 15, 2009, 02:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Remember, when judging impetus/force, you must judge if it has enough force to get to the goal line, not if it had enough force to roll out of bounds.

Ex: If the fumble in the OP had enough force to get to the goal line but not the end line, then the muff by B was not a new force.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 16, 2009, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 63
If the officials rule that B provided a new force that put the ball in the end zone then it is going to be a touchback or a touchdown. As long as there are no fouls, it will never result in a safety. If B falls on the ball in the EZ, it is a touchdown. The ball going OOB due to A or B muffing the ball or A falling on it will result in a touchback.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchback/Safety mattmets Football 11 Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:20pm
Touchback or Safety? jack015 Football 8 Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:45am
Safety or Touchback gberry Football 18 Wed Sep 27, 2006 03:12pm
Safety or Touchback? chiefgil Football 8 Fri Jul 23, 2004 08:10pm
Touchback or Safety Ed Hickland Football 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 07:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1