The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 16, 2009, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
It appears the determining factor, whether a player MUST sit out a play is not related to clock status. The salient point is whether the player was sent out of the game by an official, or voluntarily took himself out of the game without the intervention of an official.
Actually, the rules state differently. 3-5-10a being the relevant rule.
A time out occurs when
1) injured player is discovered
a) While the ball is dead AND for whom the RFP is delayed or
b) For whom the clock is stopped.

So, if the clock was stopped to enforce a penalty, the clock stoppage requirements of the rule are not met unless it takes more time to "fix" the injury than it does to enforce the penalty and mark the ball ready. Which for most injuries is going to be the case as the coaches/trainers do their bit for the guy hurt on the ground. But for a quick cut that needs to be covered, could happen.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Fri Oct 16, 2009 at 11:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 16, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Actually, the rules state differently. 3-5-10a being the relevant rule.
A time out occurs when
1) injured player is discovered
a) While the ball is dead AND for whom the RFP is delayed or
b) For whom the clock is stopped.

So, if the clock was stopped to enforce a penalty, the clock stoppage requirements of the rule are not met unless it takes more time to "fix" the injury than it does to enforce the penalty and mark the ball ready. Which for most injuries is going to be the case as the coaches/trainers do their bit for the guy hurt on the ground. But for a quick cut that needs to be covered, could happen.
Mike, I don't want to belabor a point, but you need to read all of NF: 3-5-10-a. "A time occurs when: An apparently injured player is discovered by the official while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped and for whom the RFP signal is delayed, or for whom the clock is stopped. The player shall be replaced for at least one down, unless the halftime or an overtime intermission occurs. This time out, if not charged, is an officials TO."

NF: 3-5-10-c carries this concept directly to the issue of bleeding and blood on the person or uniform.

If a player takes himself out of action, without the intervention of a game official, he is NOT covered by these rules. If his team elects to call a charged TO to attend to this player, he may participate in the next play. If the apparent injury situation is "discovered by an official" the player MAY NOT participate in the following play, unless there is a halftime or overtime intermission. His team CANNOT buy him back into the game, without missing, "at least one down" with a TO.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 16, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Mike, I don't want to belabor a point, but you need to read all of NF: 3-5-10-a. "A time occurs when: An apparently injured player is discovered by the official while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped and for whom the RFP signal is delayed, or for whom the clock is stopped. The player shall be replaced for at least one down, unless the halftime or an overtime intermission occurs. This time out, if not charged, is an officials TO."

NF: 3-5-10-c carries this concept directly to the issue of bleeding and blood on the person or uniform.

If a player takes himself out of action, without the intervention of a game official, he is NOT covered by these rules. If his team elects to call a charged TO to attend to this player, he may participate in the next play. If the apparent injury situation is "discovered by an official" the player MAY NOT participate in the following play, unless there is a halftime or overtime intermission. His team CANNOT buy him back into the game, without missing, "at least one down" with a TO.
I am reading all the rule. You are not. Your interpretation stops at discovered by the official and ignores the timing aspects that accompany the rule.
"C" only makes the bleeding player be considered as injured as under "A".
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blood OverAndBack Football 2 Sat Sep 02, 2006 03:51pm
New Blood dr_donald_t Softball 2 Mon Nov 07, 2005 03:09pm
Blood WhistlesAndStripes Football 5 Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08am
Blood OT rainmaker Basketball 19 Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:09pm
Blood, blood, ref, she's bleeding! rainmaker Basketball 27 Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1