The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 31, 2009, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 58
[QUOTE=michrefdh;618254]
Quote:
Originally Posted by KWH View Post
michrefdh-
Perhaps this will help.
In your original study group play, yes, B intercepted the ball in B's endzone, however, the ball did not become dead there, and, because it did not become dead there, 8-5-3d is NOT the applicable rule.

So then, suppose in the situation originally posted, the kid threw the ball up in the air, yes it still went forward, but still landed in the endzone or out of bounds behind the goal line, and therfore is dead in the endzone. Does that affect the ruling at all?

And another situation, B1 intercepts in the endzone, B2 commits a clip in the endzone, but then B1 either downs it in the endzone, or is tackled in the endzone, therefore the ball is dead in the endzone. Does that change anything vs the original situation?

Again, I in these situations, I still see a conflict in rule 8-5 art 3-d "It is a touchback when...d. A forward pass is intercepted in B's endzone and becomes dead there in B's possession."

P.S. I'm just trying to understand the situation and the application of the rules, and not just endlessly debate.
Not a problem at all, Mich - this is how we improve!

You're correct that - without a penalty - 8-5-3-d is what would apply in this situation. The penalty in any case changes that, though. After B gains possession, if they commit a foul in their own EZ, that penalty (if accepted) will result in a safety. They've committed a foul behind the basic spot (the 20 yard line for a touchback, or the end of the run if the ball is run out of the EZ), and any time a penalty is enforced from a spot in the "offense's" EZ, it's a safety.

Let's change this up just a bit: same play, but after B1 intercepts the ball, B2 commits a hold at the 10 yard line. B1 is tackled in the EZ. B still has a touchback, and would normally get the ball at their 20. However, the penalty at the 10 is behind the basic spot, so the hold is enforced from there. Half the distance from the spot of the foul puts the ball on B's 5 yard line, 1-st and 10 for B.

The key issue when B commits a foul in this situation where a TB would normally apply is "where is the foul"? If the foul is downfield (B's 21 yard line to A's goal line), the penalty is enforced from the basic spot of the 20. If the penalty is committed behind the B20, the penalty is enforced from the spot of the foul, whether in the field of play or in the EZ.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchback/Safety mattmets Football 11 Mon Sep 22, 2008 12:20pm
Touchback or Safety? jack015 Football 8 Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:45am
Safety or Touchback gberry Football 18 Wed Sep 27, 2006 03:12pm
Safety or Touchback? chiefgil Football 8 Fri Jul 23, 2004 08:10pm
Touchback or Safety Ed Hickland Football 3 Fri Jun 04, 2004 07:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1