The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
I can't see any harm, unless it's an official who is going to dispute the TD call, in which case he would not mirror the call.
Covering official signals TD.

You mirror his signal.

Covering official is wrong.

What's that make you?
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
Covering official signals TD.

You mirror his signal.

Covering official is wrong.

What's that make you?
A Dumbo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Walt has it nailed. NO mirroring of TD signals.

Also, we do not "mirror" beanbags. ONLY the official who has seen the fumble drops the bag, for the same reason. What IF it was an incomplete pass? Is Mr. Hochuli in the room?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaybird View Post
A Dumbo.
Perhaps the term "mirroring" is the problem, or at least how and when it might be used.

Is it mirroring when a LJ, on one end of the goal line sees a player, in possession of the ball, clearly cross over the goal line, on the other sideline, and sees the HL, in position to rule on whether he crossed the goal line inside the sideline signal TD, to signal TD, so all the players on his side of the field know the play has ended?

Does a BJ, at the center of the endline, who observes a player complete a catch inside the endline near a sideline, after checking with the HL who's ruling on the sideline aspects of the catch, repeat the HL's TD signal?

Is signalling something you have personally seen, although it may be instantly following another official's signal, mirroring?

The NFHS Officials manual cautions;
"A. Only official(s) who actually see Touchdown should give TD signal.
B. Officials not observing TD do not mirror signal.

Maybe dumb is assuming that "one size fits all" about anything related to football.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
How does everyone treat the old "pileup" when looking for the score? If you don't see it, just wait until the pile is cleaned up ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNG10 View Post
How does everyone treat the old "pileup" when looking for the score? If you don't see it, just wait until the pile is cleaned up ?
Pretty much. You have to find the ball before you can signal. Coaches, players and spectators will understand the delay. Sometimes the umpire can tell you that A had possession of the ball in the endzone before the pile up so you can call a TD based on that. Otherwise, keep digging until the ball is located and see what that gives you.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNG10 View Post
How does everyone treat the old "pileup" when looking for the score? If you don't see it, just wait until the pile is cleaned up ?
Someone has to be digging. When the ball is found, it's location will determine if it is a score or not. We can't rule on how it got there. Also, we are going away from "secret" signals by the umpire. In reality, they are not so secret. We will be going to a verbal signal from the umpire. Remember that the signal from the umpire only means he has the ball over the line. The knee of the runner could have touched down before the line.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
So, if the knee was down, but no one(on the crew) had the ball at the time, and the U has it in, we'll have to go with the td, correct ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNG10 View Post
So, if the knee was down, but no one(on the crew) had the ball at the time, and the U has it in, we'll have to go with the td, correct ?
Yes, if I understand your question correctly. Once any official sees the ball in the endzone, it is a touchdown.

In the play we discussed with the pile up, if the umpire had seen the ball in A's possession in the endzone the play is dead and it's a TD. He will let the wings know what he has and then they would normally signal TD. He checks with the wings first though to make sure they didn't have a knee down at the 1, for example. In this case, there is no need to dig through the pile because anything that happened after A had possession in the endzone is just a struggle for a dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNG10 View Post
So, if the knee was down, but no one(on the crew) had the ball at the time, and the U has it in, we'll have to go with the td, correct ?
How can you say the knee was down if no one saw it down?

If either wing does not have it down and they can't see the ball or knee and the U has it in the EZ, then we have a TD. But the U will not raise his hands. He will communicate to the wings that it is in and they make the decision to signal a TD. He should NEVER raise his hands for the TD signal. He will communicate verbally, either in a conference with the wings or in the procedure I've described below.

Our crew will use this procedure: If the U sees the ball in the EZ he says after the ball is dead, "I've got the ball." He will NOT grab his whistle or use any visible signal that the coaches or pressbox can see. Upon hearing him say that, the wings will either signal TD or be marking a spot. Therefore, there will be no contradictory signal that can get the crew in trouble. The last thing we want is for a coach to see him grab his whistle and a wing marking a spot that is short of the GL. If he doesn't say that, then he saw that the ball wasn't in or he didn't see it at all.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 04, 2009, 03:18am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
I have a mirror suggestion!

AJMC, aka Alf, aka ALupstateNY,

Before you begin your hollowed routine of lenghty and nefarious attacks against actual on-field officials, perhaps you should consider what some on this board are suggesting, which, quite frankly is, YOU need to look in the mirror!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
The NFHS Officials manual cautions;
"A. Only official(s) who actually see Touchdown should give TD signal.
B. Officials not observing TD do not mirror signal.
Well, Al, I think you have your answer right there in front of you. Seems you're the one who is once again mistaken and is now in full backpedal mode.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
Well, Al, I think you have your answer right there in front of you. Seems you're the one who is once again mistaken and is now in full backpedal mode.
So what exactly are you suggesting Walt? When more than one official sees an action should he signal, even though the other official has signaled, or are you suggesting he should not "mirror" the call.

It seems you want to split hairs about words so fine, they tend to lose any relevant meaning. You ask a loaded question to try and sound like a guru, that provides no guidance or insight. If the covering official makes a call, that you also saw, and agree with, are you suggesting you not signal for fear of possibly being wrong?

That's not why your out there. If you see something you should respond to it. If an official differs with another official's call, rather than signal the opposite, going to the other official and discussing the call to try and detrmine who had the better view and agreeing on a call before signalling is a better approach.

It's not about being mistaken, Walt, or backpedaling, or changing your mind. It's far better to consider modifying or adjusting a position based on what's discussed here, than insist on doing something that can otherwise be done better. Doesn't mean you have to change, but there's no harm in considering a different approach.

Once you accept the reality and face the inevitable fact that you don't already know everything, it's a lot easier to focus on learning what you need to know to get better.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3
I suppose I should have been more descriptive with my question. It isn't about mirroring, although it is a good discussion. Last season, I had a goal line play. Team A runs up the gut into a pile. U had the ball in, I thought it was in, but was looking at the blocking - not the ball position. BJ was on end line, and couldn't see the action. I checked both wings - HL was crashing in with a spot, LJ straddling the goal line. HL did not have a clear view of the ball once the runner hit the line, but saw his knee touch. LJ had his view completely obstructed. U relayed he had the ball in before the knee touched, but neither wing would signal. In a situation like this, is it acceptable for U to signal? It turns out that A fumbled into the end zone on the next play and B recovered.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
The U should be relaying to the HL he had the ball in before the knee touch. The HL, realizing he did have the knee down but had no idea where the ball was when it happened, should accept the U's call, go up with TD and thank the U for being there for him to help with the call. (Unless of course the HL feels where the knee down happened makes it impossible for the ball to be in since you really don't say at what yd line he had the knee).
The U going up with the signal just looks like cr@p.
The LJ should not be straddling the goal line unless he has it in.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem

Last edited by Mike L; Wed Jun 03, 2009 at 11:56am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
mirror mirror on the wall, the hyenas ride again


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
touchdown or not rgraham Football 2 Tue Nov 15, 2005 02:53pm
DPI on Touchdown jrfath Football 1 Mon Nov 15, 2004 09:06am
measurement?? touchdown? ob??? cmathews Football 5 Mon Nov 01, 2004 09:00am
First down/Touchdown TriggerMN Football 7 Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:57pm
Why is this not a touchdown? Joel_5 Football 8 Thu Sep 13, 2001 08:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1