![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
|
This play should provide fresh clean drinking water to an extremely muddy puddle.
![]() See 2008 NFHS CASEBOOK Page 13, 2.17.2 SITUATION E This play was added to the Casebook in 2007. Unfortunatly, however, Mike Sears is correct that not all states agree. Therefore it is best to consult your state rules interpreter on this one.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
|
|
|||
|
In Both NE and MO it is pretty much interpreted at least every time I've heard the interpreters speak about it as it is in the book.
If the ball is in the zone when the block is BEGUN then the ball is in the zone for the block...in other words if at the snap a lineman begins to block low, he may do so even if at the moment of contact the ball has already left the zone. If he stands or retreats before going low, and the ball has left before he starts his block then he's guilty. ALSO it should be noted: Defensive players in the zone may block below the waist but not in the back nor may they clip. (My FB career ended when a DL clipped me) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Robert in the Bronx |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A77 outside the free blocking zone begins his charge at B99, his charge is at B99's front of the torso below the neck above the waist. Because of a sudden movement either a spin or jump or duck the contact actually occurs in the back, or below the waste, or above the neck. What do you have? No flag because the initial charge was legal. This is similar, the initial charge begins when the ball is in the zone, legal. "Several steps" does not sound like an initial charge I would refer to. Last edited by Reffing Rev.; Fri May 15, 2009 at 07:40am. |
|
|||
|
There can always be extreme or hyper technical evaluations of the language of, just about, any rule used to create hypothetical interpretations that generate questions about potential scenarios that NEVER happen.
ReffingRefs suggestion above, is straightforward, understandable, readily recognizable and applicable, logical, follows the basic intent of the rule, and makes sense in how it applies to the general situation it relates to (line blocking) and is likely the interpretation that is most generally accepted. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you extended your logic, what about situations where a kick from scrimmage is expected, yet an opposing player hits the kicker because when that opposing player "began his charge", the kick, albeit expected, had not occurred yet? Robert in the Bronx Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri May 15, 2009 at 04:28pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| free blocking zone | yankeesfan | Football | 20 | Fri Jul 11, 2008 07:41pm |
| Free Blocking Zone | FATUMP | Football | 6 | Mon Sep 10, 2007 05:52pm |
| Free blocking zone | boone17 | Football | 10 | Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:26pm |
| Free Blocking zone question | verticalStripes | Football | 1 | Tue Sep 20, 2005 07:25pm |
| Free blocking zone question | devilsadvocate | Football | 3 | Sun Oct 13, 2002 08:33pm |