The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 13, 2002, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Quote:
Originally posted by Sleeper
Here is the question:

Fourth and 12 on the B-48 yard line. A punt bounces at the B-14 yard line, rolls to the B-4 yard line where A18 muffs it. B31 picks up the ball at the B-2 yard line and runs to the B-45 yard line where he is hit and fumbles. A62 recovers and is downed at the B-44 yard line. During B31's run, B56 illegally blocked A45 in the back above the waist at the B-20 yard line and B94 clipped A8 at the B-40 yard line.



Team A WILL NOT get to keep the football. If Team A accepts either penalty, this will eliminate the illegal touching but Team B will retain possession because they had the ball when the foul occurred. If Team A declines the penalty then Team B gets the ball at the 4 yd line because of the illegal touching.

The consequences of illegal touching are eliminated if there are offsetting fouls or an accepted penalty for a foul by either team during the down.

**Thanks to Rogers Redding for his easy to understand interpretation for this situation. Anyone who works under NCAA rules would be well advised to get a copy of his REFEREE'S STUDY GUIDE, which he puts out every season.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1