![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Bears fan also. New rule on me as well. But I don't see how this NCAA rule would apply: "When a Team A potential kicker, from scrimmage kick formation, simulates a scrimmage kick by throwing the ball high and deep, and contact by a Team B player occurs." There was nothing thrown high nor did it seem to me that there was any intent to disguise the throw as a kick.
"Defensive holding, such as tackling a receiver, still can be called...." and it sure looked like to me that it should have been. Contact was clearly early, the receiver couldn't have been mistaken for a blocker, and the contact was from the middle of the field out to the sideline. It certainly seems like this was something the crew should have gotten. Actually, for once this season, I actually got to watch some NFL football and I couldn't believe the number of times in the two games I watched (Bears and Giants) that the officials picked up a flag. And the explanations of penalties of the crew that did the Bears were lousy all game I thought.
__________________
Craig |
|
|||
|
Yes, they struggled. McAulay (that's who it was, right?) is no Ronald Reagan.
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
|
so the only penalty that can't be called is defensive pass interference, and this is because the defense would normally be blocking, and may not see that it's a pass, therefor keeps blocking as usual? and this can only happen with the outside guys (i think called gunners in a punt formation)? so if the tight end goes out for a pass, it can be DPI?
|
|
|||
|
To avoid any unnecessary confusion with the NFHS code, (NF:7.5.7) "Pass interference restrictions only apply beyond the neutral zone and only if the pass, untouched by B in or behind the NZ, crosses the neutral zone.
(NF:7.5.10.a) "It is pass interference if: (a) Any player of A or B who is beyond the NZ interferes with an eligible opponent's opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass." |
|
|||
|
That's on a legal forward pass, right?
BTW, here's the play in question: 32MB version | 5 MB version
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
In which code? I thought the ends were eligible at least in the NFL. What are the rules in NCAA and NFHS?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In NFHS, and I'm sure NCAA there's some additional rules about scrimmage kick formations but I'll spare you the details unless you really want them.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I didn't say this rule was the same in the NFL. I was just wanting to point out that the NCAA has a similar rule. The "high and deep" part of the NCAA rule is not defined in the rule book so that is open to the ruling officials judgement as to what he thinks is "high and deep". |
|
|||
|
from larry mayer cb.com
Quote:
but high and deep = every pass |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| fanboy |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Pass Interference? | Ed Hickland | Football | 14 | Wed Oct 22, 2008 09:04am |
| Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass | OverAndBack | Football | 8 | Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm |
| pass interference | ronald | Football | 1 | Tue Jan 20, 2004 09:12am |
| pass interference | shocker | Football | 4 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 09:23pm |
| Is this pass interference? | BoBo | Football | 3 | Tue Oct 29, 2002 05:17pm |