The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Posts: 71
Send a message via ICQ to falsecut Send a message via AIM to falsecut Send a message via Yahoo to falsecut
Snap question

Swinging gate type formation. Snapper snaps the ball to a back who is about 10 yards to the left of the snapper. The snapper's shoulders start out parallel to the LOS, but he throws the ball backward across his body, in other words, the ball does not go through his legs. Legal or illegal?
__________________
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 183
Canadian Ruling

Canadian Ruling

In Canada, this is not legal as the snap needs to travel between the legs.

This would be illegal procedure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 16
As long as it is a quick continuous motion, it does not have to go through the legs of the snapper.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
NF 2.40 defines what a snap is required to be. Although 99.9% of snaps involve the ball passing through the snapper's legs on the way to the QB, it is NOT a requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
The snapper's shoulders start out parallel to the LOS...
I know I have been taught (in FED) that this is required, but right now I cannot find it in 2.40 or Rule 7. Where is this noted?

The reason I ask is that, if they snapper's shoulders are not parallel, I believe that is illegal formation instead of illegal snap but I'm trying to confirm.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2008, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Ump View Post
I know I have been taught (in FED) that this is required, but right now I cannot find it in 2.40 or Rule 7. Where is this noted?

The reason I ask is that, if they snapper's shoulders are not parallel, I believe that is illegal formation instead of illegal snap but I'm trying to confirm.
As soon as the ball moves, formation rules no longer apply.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Posts: 71
Send a message via ICQ to falsecut Send a message via AIM to falsecut Send a message via Yahoo to falsecut
On the play in question, the snapper stood with his shoulders parallel to the goal, and not sideways. He pretty much stood up and then threw the ball sideways to the back. Depending on your feeling of "quick continuous motion" and exactly how far you can stretch that clause, the snapper did not really pause much in his motion. He stood up and threw it. That part of it is probably a HTBT type of situation.

As to where parallel is mentioned, it's in the position definitions, 2-32-9 (for linemen) and 2-32-14 (for the snapper).
__________________
Craig

Last edited by falsecut; Tue Nov 04, 2008 at 01:54pm. Reason: Add detail
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
If, as you say, "He pretty much stood up and then threw the ball sideways to the back", it sounds like an illegal snap. If his rising up and throwing the ball was ,"a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball" then it sounds like a legal snap.

Snapping the ball is a basic concept that has existed since the game was invented. Allowing one team to deviate from the standard gives that team an unearned advantage, which automatically provides the opponent with an unearned disadvantage.

You might also consider that allowing a long snapper to "cock" the ball forward before snapping it, also provides an unearned advantage to the snapping team.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Posts: 71
Send a message via ICQ to falsecut Send a message via AIM to falsecut Send a message via Yahoo to falsecut
AJMC, I agree, and that's why it's that HTBT kind of thing. My initial purpose was to get some rules info more than what the ruling was on that actual play. That I believe I got here so thanks to all.
__________________
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2008, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
As to where parallel is mentioned, it's in the position definitions, 2-32-9 (for linemen) and 2-32-14 (for the snapper).
Thanks.

So, since I cannot find anything stating that it is an illegal snap if a snapper is not properly parrellel, I'm presuming this would be illegal formation?

(I realize that I kind of have a side conversation going, only slightly related to the original play. I did not realize I was doing this until I was in kind of deep. Sorry about that.)
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA question on new clock rules, on the ready or snap??? BoBo Football 3 Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:37pm
Snap infraction question bcl1127 Football 8 Wed Oct 08, 2008 09:30pm
I'm back with a snap question dvasques Football 3 Fri Oct 26, 2007 04:13am
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Snap lds7199 Football 17 Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1