The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Slapping the Snap (https://forum.officiating.com/football/49484-slapping-snap.html)

kdf5 Thu Oct 23, 2008 02:29pm

Bigjohn you remind me of the Black Knight in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. His opponent kept lopping off body parts and yet he wouldn't surrender no matter how badly he was losing.

waltjp Thu Oct 23, 2008 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5 (Post 545186)
Bigjohn you remind me of the Black Knight in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. His opponent kept lopping off body parts and yet he wouldn't surrender no matter how badly he was losing.


It's just a flesh wound.

Sonofanump Thu Oct 23, 2008 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 545055)
You can't be serious with this answer. What did B do that was illegal?

What is human reaction time? The center is the person snapping and he knows when the snap is going to occur. No way the defender could time this perfectly to beat a center who is snapping the ball.

bigjohn Thu Oct 23, 2008 03:05pm

We'll call it a draw!

YouTube - Monty Python And The Holy Grail- The Black Knight

waltjp Thu Oct 23, 2008 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sonofanump (Post 545190)
What is human reaction time? The center is the person snapping and he knows when the snap is going to occur. No way the defender could time this perfectly to beat a center who is snapping the ball.

Maybe it's me, but I still don't see you citing a rule.

LDUB Thu Oct 23, 2008 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 545052)
slapping the snap causes a snap infraction, no? That is false start.

A snap infraction is a false start? :confused: I think you might want to learn some definitions.

Robert Goodman Thu Oct 23, 2008 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 545089)
John, Redding's interpretation is qualified by saying 'highly unlikely'. This is hardly a definitive ruling. I don't disagree with the Redding interpretation, I'm just saying it's possible. If I see B encroach I'll call it. But it's not automatic.

The snap was required to be "quick and continuous" in the hope that plays like this would not be part of the game, but I certainly wouldn't consider it anything like USC, let alone a "travesty of the game", if A1 were to move the ball slowly enough to still be considered "quick" yet allow B1 to contact it without encroaching. I could see B1 stealing A's signal and possibly having much faster arm movement than A1. It's not like a free pass in informal basketball.

Robert

With_Two_Flakes Thu Oct 23, 2008 05:38pm

We play NCAA Rules over here in the UK and have no problems since NCAA Rules and AR's are quite specific on this point. Firstly NCAA Rules have a Section about Defensive Team Requirements (7-1-5) and a specific AR 7-1-5-II that addresses this exact issue.

Snapper A1 legally begins the snap, but B2 bats the ball before A1 completes the snap, and B3 recovers the ball.
RULING: Team B foul and the ball is dead.
Penalty -- Five yards from the succeeding spot. Team B may not touch the ball until it has been snapped. Team A retains possession.


I'm not quite so familiar with Fed rules as I only get to work them a couple of times every 3 or 4 years when I travel to the US. Fed rules lack a specific section for defensive requirements, but perhaps this is because the Fed Rules Ctte. feel there is adequate existing coverage in 7-1-5 already.

However, Rule 7 Section 1 BEFORE THE SNAP Article 5 says no player except the snapper shall encroach on the neutral zone. That includes the defence. I would think it reasonable and appropriate to interpret "before the snap" to mean "before the end of the snap".
The end of the snap is defined in 2-40-3 as "when the ball touches the ground or any player". Therefore I would maintain that it cannot be legally possible for a defensive player to put his hand across to touch the ball before the snap is completed since he will have encroached.

Mike L Thu Oct 23, 2008 05:50pm

You better rethink that or are you not going to allow the defense to penetrate the neutral zone until the QB in shotgun formation touches the ball?
It's really pretty simple, if the snap is done correctly it is not possible for the defense to slap the ball out of the snappers hand. Therefore, you must either have a snap infraction because the snap was not done properly or you have encroachment because the defense was in the zone prior to the snap.

bigjohn Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:21pm

Snap infraction is false start!

PENALTY: Encroachment (Arts. 1, 5, 6) – (S7-18); snap infraction (Arts. 2, 3);
false start (Art. 7) – (S7-19) – 5 yards.

Welpe Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:25pm

John those are different fouls referencing different articles of that rule.

bigjohn Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:29pm

Same signal for snap infraction and false start, same penalty.

bigjohn Thu Oct 23, 2008 07:32pm

What is the signal for snap infraction?

Sonofanump Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp (Post 545197)
Maybe it's me, but I still don't see you citing a rule.


If B slaps the ball during the snap, then he encroched. It's kinetics.

waltjp Thu Oct 23, 2008 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 545271)
Snap infraction is false start!

PENALTY: Encroachment (Arts. 1, 5, 6) – (S7-18); snap infraction (Arts. 2, 3);
false start (Art. 7) – (S7-19) – 5 yards.

John, you do know that a snap infraction is a foul on the offense, right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1