![]() |
So you agree that 9-5-1d makes slapping at the snap a USC?
I agree with you! Let me restate that a snap infraction is like a false start. It is prior to the snap and causes the ball to remain dead. All plays must begin with a legal snap and for B to hinder that by ACTS or words is USC! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Robert |
Quote:
This shouldn't be too big of a discussion. In NCAA it is illegal. In Federation there is a good chance B encroached but if not it is legal. |
Quote:
|
I have a case play that says you are wrong.
SITUATION 10: On third and 10 from A's 40-yard line, all team A players are set. While quarterback A1 is calling signals, defensive back B1, starting from a position eight yards behind his line of scrimmage, runs toward the neutral zone. B1 stops directly in front of tackle A4 but does not enter the neutral zone. In response to B1's charge, A4 (a) does not move, or (b) flinches. _______________________________________________ RULING: No foul in (a). In (b), A4 is guilty of a dead-ball foul for false start. If in the official's judgment the action by B1 was for the purpose of disconcerting or hindering A, it is an unsportsmanlike conduct foul. In this case, the official should sound his whistle before the snap. (7-1-7; 9-5-1d) |
Quote:
|
Interestingly enough, we played a team Friday night whose Nose Guard kept trying to do this exact thing - on every snap he was trying to slap the ball as our Center snapped it...I told our Center that if he ever snapped it slowly enough for the guy to actually get a hand on it, he would be standing next to me the remainder of the game. The Nose never even came close, but he was persistent. Needless to say, we ran up the middle a LOT because the Nose was always off balance from swinging his arm around like that.:p
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm. |