![]() |
|
|
|||
Illegal touching by A80. 5 yard penalty plus loss of down so it would be 4th & 18 from A's 2 and a half.
Since 80 is normally an eligible number, the QB was under pressure and, for all we know maybe 80 wasn't supposed to be covered on that play, I would not consider intentional grounding. Last edited by Jim D; Thu Sep 25, 2008 at 03:47pm. |
|
|||
Even if there wasn't another eligible receiver/back around him?
|
|
|||
The rule says it's illegal if the QB intentionally thrown into an area where there is no eligible receiver. Based on the word "intentional", we have to judge intent. Since the player had a number that would normally indicate that he is eligible, I would give the QB the benefit of the doubt. Like I said, maybe 80 was supposed to be eligible on the play and was covered up by mistake. Maybe the QB forgot that 80 was lined up inside on this play. Either way, there is a pretty good chance that his throw to an ineligible was unintentional. Now if he throws to 70, then I can assume he's just dumping off. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Don't pick up that bat! | MD Longhorn | Softball | 16 | Thu Oct 04, 2007 03:02pm |
How would you pick this nit? | SC Ump | Softball | 10 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:40pm |
If you could pick.... | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 20 | Sat Jul 09, 2005 09:01am |
3rd to 1st pick off | wpiced | Baseball | 8 | Wed May 05, 2004 01:12pm |
Pick off to second | Newbie Scott | Baseball | 1 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 01:53pm |