The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Sep 19, 2008, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member

Question for the white hats.

As a first year referee, I wanted to bounch this off some more seasoned officials.

I have a long run by A that goes for a score. While the runner was somewhere between the 10 and goal line; I see that around the 40 yard line (approx. 30 yards behind the ball carrier) an A lineman give a decleating block (completely clean) against a B player that was jogging. Obviously, I threw the flag. I applied it as a dead ball persoanl foul. I know that by the rule book, if it was a live ball foul we're bringing it back to the spot of the foul.

Any other referees in that situation willing to squint and make a live ball personal foul a dead ball personal foul...provided that the foul has no bearing on the play and the foul is imminant within a second or two?
Old Fri Sep 19, 2008, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member

I've had this happen numerous times, especially at the pee-wee levels. We call it a 'live ball foul treated as a dead ball foul'. Coaches (on both sides) usually do not have a problem with the call when you explain it to them.

Also remember, even if it's legal a block, it could also be considered flagrant.
Old Fri Sep 19, 2008, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by sloth View Post
As a first year referee, I wanted to bounch this off some more seasoned officials.

I have a long run by A that goes for a score. While the runner was somewhere between the 10 and goal line; I see that around the 40 yard line (approx. 30 yards behind the ball carrier) an A lineman give a decleating block (completely clean) against a B player that was jogging. Obviously, I threw the flag. I applied it as a dead ball persoanl foul. I know that by the rule book, if it was a live ball foul we're bringing it back to the spot of the foul.