The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes
Bob M. I agree with you. There is nothing that I could find in the rule/case book ( Fed) that says the offense cannot put their hand on the ball. If they snap immediately after the RFP, the play is OK provided the entire offense was set for one second before the snap. Being set for one second could occur before the RFP. The only potential problem that I could find is the split ends not being inside the 9 yard marks. That must occur after the RFP.
Don't forget the philosophy behind the 9 yard mark rule. It's intended to prevent deception. If this happens and the DB is lined up with the receiver outside the 9 yard marks, you don't have a foul. That doesn't violate the spirit of the rule and is just common sense.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ready for Play Scooby Football 22 Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:13pm
Ready For Play to Snap Time Interval FeetBallRef Football 2 Tue Oct 23, 2007 08:31pm
Ball Ready for Play eventnyc Football 9 Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:06am
Speaking of being ready for certain levels of play.... Skahtboi Softball 11 Sun Aug 22, 2004 08:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1