![]() |
You are obviously having a hard time understanding the rule as it is written and applied. You are reading it and trying to apply it to your own logic. You are correct that there can be a live ball IS. When the extra player is trying to get off the field but can't before the snap, you have a live ball IS. In the instance you describe you had 2 players in the CB position. Your problem is the issue of what participation is. I believe that you think that since he didn't do anything on that play that he didn't participate. Now if you were astute enough to read the definition of participation you would have read that is any act or action that has an influence on the play. Now since coaches speak and understand a different language than the rule book, I'm going to venture a guess that in your opinion he had no influence on the play. Still with me? Ok, now you have to go to the Case Book. The Case Book explains exactly what the rules mean by giving examples. Lo and behold your exact situation is in there! 3.7.1 Situation B: ".....However, if the official's count is not completed before the snap is imminent or if the substitution has not been monitored, it becomes illegal participation at the snap if more that 11 are in the formation. Each team is responsible for substituting legally and for replaced players to leave immediately as required."
This is purely a penalty related to poor discipline which is a result of poor coaching. As the coach it is your responsibility to substitute correctly. Whether it's 5 or 15 it's all on you. If you were smart you would have at least taken the time out. You thought you would get away with 5 and didn't call time out. When it didn't happen that way, you became upset. End of story. Go back to practice and work on your substitutions and stop trying to look here for validation that this was not simply a case of poor coaching. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Offense cannot break w/<11, or line up <11 bc. it would put defense at a great disadvantage. next time, as other posts have mentioned, count to ten, and if that doesn't work, count to twenty or thirty, whatever it takes before you explode at an official, it will be well worth it! cheers, tro |
I know those interpretations and that practice the only thing your offering is the case book. What book is it what page is that on?
|
The offense cannot break the huddle with 12 is a myth. A is in their huddle, A12 enters the huddle and they immediately break the huddle as A11 leaves the field. How is that a penalty?
|
Quote:
|
*3.7 COMMENT, Page 26: a. If a replaced player or substitute attempts to leave the field, but does not get off prior to the snap, the foul is considered as having occurred simultaneously with the snap and the illegal substitution penalty is enforced from the previous spot. (3-7-4, 10-4-2a)
This is exactly what happened. Stop pretending you were there and he wasn't trying to get off. Stop pretending the official didn't have the count. Stop trying to make an argument for a conclusion you are predisposed to have “Ref good coach bad” make an honest case. We are looking for better understanding here |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
The participation penalty assumes that the officials are competent and able to count players on the field in under a minute. It takes less than a second to determine any offense (with 5 interior lineman) has 11. That leaves a lot of time for the defense. Under no circumstances should this situation occur. Participation can only be called if the 12th defensive player runs on within 3 seconds of the snap to after the snap. Otherwise it’s on the official to call a substitution penalty. I’m sorry if you feel guilty about this but it’s just the way it is. Take the ignorant blinders off.
*9.6 COMMENT, Page 71: b: If a substitute enters the field during the down, but does not make any contact with an opponent or touch the ball and does not influence the play it is illegal participation and a live-ball foul enforced from the basic spot. (9-6-4a) NOTE: Based on the rules change, officials are strongly encouraged to make certain that the substitute’s entry into the field had some impact on the play and was not incidental to viewing the game or simply being in the bench area. |
Again you have to apply the correct rule. Your player did not enter the field during a down. Next.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
So, the new question would be if the official messes up by not counting timely why wouldn't the same penalty apply and why wouldn't he blow the whistle once he finishes counting?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08am. |