The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 04:55pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
No. It looked like they both engaged each other. There was also no advantage from the play.

Peace
Agreed. What little separation might've occured did not yield any advantage to the offensive receiver.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
In a word, no.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 06:04pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
I've got nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
OPI? The restriction is on the offensive player from the snap. The player knows the play therefore has an advantage over the defender.

It appears the offensive receiver initiated a block on the defender. When I was a downfield official as soon as I saw a block it was time to cover the running game. If a pass was thrown pass the line of scrimmage it was an OPI.

Thinks this meets the test.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 10, 2008, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
OPI? The restriction is on the offensive player from the snap. The player knows the play therefore has an advantage over the defender.

It appears the offensive receiver initiated a block on the defender. When I was a downfield official as soon as I saw a block it was time to cover the running game. If a pass was thrown pass the line of scrimmage it was an OPI.

Thinks this meets the test.
I agree. It looks like the receiver had the LB in his sights the entire time.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 04:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Are we sure that the official did not rule that the receiver was covered up? Thus, when he caught the ball he committed OPI. I know the rule changed a few years ago, but he did not throw the flag at the time of the contact. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Based on the contact I have nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
Are we sure that the official did not rule that the receiver was covered up? Thus, when he caught the ball he committed OPI. I know the rule changed a few years ago, but he did not throw the flag at the time of the contact. Just a thought.
From the press box view it seemed to me that he was clearly off the line (not that the official couldn't have seen it differently). That having been said this would be illegal touching, not OPI (which I think you were referring to in the post). Do we know for a fact that OPI was the call (and not illegal touching or something else)? But, yes, it does seem like the flag does not come down until the pass is caught, not on the contact between the players.
__________________
If the play is designed to fool someone, make sure you aren't the fool.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
Are we sure that the official did not rule that the receiver was covered up? Thus, when he caught the ball he committed OPI. I know the rule changed a few years ago, but he did not throw the flag at the time of the contact. Just a thought.
OPI was not technically committed until the ball was thrown past the line of scrimmage, therefore, the flag followed the catch.

OPI is a strange penalty because the offense knows the play. I had a blantant one on a try for point. An A player blocked the B player while another A player came underneath and caught the pass. If the play had been a run or if the pass had not crossed the line of scrimmage there was no foul.

The opposite is when an A player comes downfield and blocks a B player. Then a pass is thrown and caught behind the line of scrimmage. You are downfield and cannot judge the LOS, so, you throw the flag.

The U being in position to rule on whether the pass was completed behind or beyond the line joins the official's conference and it is determined no OPI, you wave off the flag.

OPI is complicated and probably why it is not called as often as it should. I was observing a ACC crew the other day and saw an OPI that went uncalled.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland
OPI? The restriction is on the offensive player from the snap. The player knows the play therefore has an advantage over the defender.

It appears the offensive receiver initiated a block on the defender. When I was a downfield official as soon as I saw a block it was time to cover the running game. If a pass was thrown pass the line of scrimmage it was an OPI.

Thinks this meets the test.
Ed,
Your criteria are accurate for calling DPI. If you watch the LB after the contact, he continues with his pass protection. He steps up to defend the scramble, not because of the contact. Althought the WR does initiate contact, I wouldn't call it a "block" as he doesn't engage him and he continues to run his route. In addition, the contact didn't cause the separation between the two.

I would say that this is something to definitely talk about with your WR and your wing officials. I would also talk with your wing officials to finish officiating the play, even though you know it is coming back. Watch the calling official.

I say no call is the right call.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2008, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Talking Keep These Coming

Terpzebra,
These video clips are VERY helpful, as they provide real life situations.
PLEASE keep sending us these kind of cases.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I was on TV on Friday night... stripes Basketball 28 Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:23am
Friday Night with M&M tjones1 Basketball 12 Sat Feb 18, 2006 12:19am
Friday night story A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 9 Wed Jan 07, 2004 10:13am
Just to get you thinking for Friday night... PSU213 Football 8 Mon Sep 29, 2003 01:56pm
Friday night. devdog69 Basketball 29 Tue Jan 29, 2002 12:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1