The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Aug 21, 2008, 08:06am
Official Forum Member

Did I get this right?

Working a scrimmage yesterday, and I'm a rookie FB official.

I'm on the wing, and the receiver on my side jumps forward before the snap, but not into the neutral zone. I threw the flag and whistled it dead for false start.

It occurred to me afterward that this could have been IM, motion toward the line. But I reasoned that, since he had jumped, not merely stepped or rocked toward the line, he had made a motion simulating the snap and so false start was the right call.

Is that right? TIA.
Old Thu Aug 21, 2008, 08:13am
Official Forum Member

I think you got it perfect. Nothing good would have happened by letting that go.
Old Thu Aug 21, 2008, 08:16am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron

I'm on the wing, and the receiver on my side jumps forward before the snap, but not into the neutral zone. I threw the flag and whistled it dead for false start.

It occurred to me afterward that this could have been IM, motion toward the line. But I reasoned that, since he had jumped, not merely stepped or rocked toward the line, he had made a motion simulating the snap and so false start was the right call.

Is that right? TIA.
Sounds like you got it. Any action by the offense that simulates the start of the play is a false start so missing the snap count is a false start.

Sometimes a coach may challenge you saying, "He is a wide-out....he can reset!" Unless he is asking a question, simply ignore it.
Old Thu Aug 21, 2008, 11:01am
Official Forum Member

Perhaps not so much a wideout, but a setback "exploding" forward for one step, then turning into a legal motion pattern is likely doing so for the express purpose of inducing a false start by the defense, especially when there's "short yardage".