The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 21, 2008, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Working a scrimmage yesterday, and I'm a rookie FB official.

I'm on the wing, and the receiver on my side jumps forward before the snap, but not into the neutral zone. I threw the flag and whistled it dead for false start.

It occurred to me afterward that this could have been IM, motion toward the line. But I reasoned that, since he had jumped, not merely stepped or rocked toward the line, he had made a motion simulating the snap and so false start was the right call.

Is that right? TIA.
Sounds like you got it. Any action by the offense that simulates the start of the play is a false start so missing the snap count is a false start.

Sometimes a coach may challenge you saying, "He is a wide-out....he can reset!" Unless he is asking a question, simply ignore it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1