![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I concur with Theisey that this is defined as a non-player foul.
Therefore the 5 yard enforcement spot from the Succeeding Spot. However it begs the question does the same apply if "prior to the snap" A-11 recognizes he is to be in the game and enters on B's side of the neutral zone. The ball is snapped before A-11 gets to his teams side, and does not participate. Is the enforcement spot then the previous spot or succeeding spot? |
|
|||
|
REPLY: Personally for whatever it's worth, I believe that this should be a live ball foul only because B11 entered the field of play before the snap and failed to make it to his side of the neutral zone. That's a violation of 3-7-5 and is penalized as a live ball foul simultaneous with the snap. Rule 3-7-6 (and correspondingly case play 3.7.6) deals with a substitute entering the field of play during the down, i.e. after the snap. This is what's penalized as a non-player foul from the succeeding spot. I contend that case play 3.7.6 is worded incorrectly and was meant to say that B11 enters after the snap. That would make the ruling correct.
__________________
Bob M. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Quarterly - Situation 9 on page 20 | kentref | Football | 3 | Thu Aug 25, 2005 01:29pm |
| Situation - NFHS Rules | whiskers_ump | Softball | 5 | Tue Apr 12, 2005 07:40am |
| NFHS: Situation 6 | RookieDude | Basketball | 7 | Tue Oct 21, 2003 04:45pm |
| SITUATION 7 from the NFHS | BktBallRef | Basketball | 11 | Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:13pm |
| NFHS Situation 13 | greymule | Baseball | 22 | Tue Mar 05, 2002 10:35am |