The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS Situation 3.7.6 (https://forum.officiating.com/football/47225-nfhs-situation-3-7-6-a.html)

verticalStripes Wed Aug 13, 2008 02:41pm

NFHS Situation 3.7.6
 
2008 version of 'Rules By Topic':

"Prior to the snap, B11 recognizes he is to be in the game and he enters on A's side of the neutral zone. The ball is snapped before B11 gets to his team's side. RULING: Illegal substitution at the snap. If the 5-yard penalty is accepted, it is enforced from the succeeding spot. "

I believe this violates 3-7-5 which is a live-ball foul. Therefore, it is a foul that occurs simultaneously with the snap and will be enforced from the previous spot.

Your thoughts?

JugglingReferee Wed Aug 13, 2008 03:10pm

A died in the neutral zone? Q will have a fit - was it the Romulans or the Cardassians? Either way, they're screwed.

Careyy Wed Aug 13, 2008 05:15pm

Redding Guide for HS says
 
page 199, Distance=5, Live ball, Previous spot, rule 3-7-5

In the verbage (page 135): Wrong side of the neutral zone-No Participation

If he does not participate is a live ball foul for illegal substitution, a five-yard penalty simultaneous with the snap (previous spot enforcement) (3-7-5)

Theisey Wed Aug 13, 2008 08:25pm

FWIW: CB play 3.7.6 which appears to be identical to the rules-by-topic play, says to enforce from succeeding spot.

An entering sub is not a player for encroachment purposes until he crosses to his side of the NZ. Therefore, it seems proper to consider this a non-player foul of 5 yards enforced from the SS.

gtwbam Wed Aug 13, 2008 08:45pm

I concur with Theisey that this is defined as a non-player foul.
Therefore the 5 yard enforcement spot from the Succeeding Spot.

However it begs the question does the same apply if

"prior to the snap" A-11 recognizes he is to be in the game and enters
on B's side of the neutral zone. The ball is snapped before A-11 gets to his
teams side, and does not participate. Is the enforcement spot then the previous spot or succeeding spot?

Bob M. Mon Aug 18, 2008 03:05pm

REPLY: Personally for whatever it's worth, I believe that this should be a live ball foul only because B11 entered the field of play before the snap and failed to make it to his side of the neutral zone. That's a violation of 3-7-5 and is penalized as a live ball foul simultaneous with the snap. Rule 3-7-6 (and correspondingly case play 3.7.6) deals with a substitute entering the field of play during the down, i.e. after the snap. This is what's penalized as a non-player foul from the succeeding spot. I contend that case play 3.7.6 is worded incorrectly and was meant to say that B11 enters after the snap. That would make the ruling correct.

verticalStripes Tue Aug 19, 2008 09:58am

Bob, I agree with you. I will run this one by my state interpreter and get his opinion.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1