The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 13, 2008, 06:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72
Ok, what this play is designed for is to run a QB sneak on say a 4th and 1. Our team lines up in a spread punt formation (much like you see WVU and other colleges run) with everyone on the line having a number under 50, except the center. We have 3 blocking backs 6 yds deep, two have numbers under 50 and one is number 83.

Once we are lined up, we call "shift" and the right guard (#15) drops off the line and goes under center and the 3 blocking backs shift up onto the line of scrimmage. Once everyone is set for a full second, we snap the ball and run a QB sneak with everyone wedge blocking.

I hope that clears up the picture.
You asked for NCAA rules so I assume you are in NCAA school or in HS in Tex or Mass. If so, this will be illegal assuming the snapper is on the ball when everyone is first lined up on the line. If the snapper is just standing up by the ball but not on it, then the play could be done legally. Once the snapper is on the ball, #15 is "locked in" and , although he can move to a new position, it must be on the line and between the 2 ends, i.e. still in an ineligible position, even though has eligible number.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2008, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
You asked for NCAA rules so I assume you are in NCAA school or in HS in Tex or Mass. If so, this will be illegal assuming the snapper is on the ball when everyone is first lined up on the line. If the snapper is just standing up by the ball but not on it, then the play could be done legally. Once the snapper is on the ball, #15 is "locked in" and , although he can move to a new position, it must be on the line and between the 2 ends, i.e. still in an ineligible position, even though has eligible number.

Thanks Mike. What if the center just stood over the ball and did not put his hands at or below his knees. Would the shift be legal then?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Punt blocked question 3bag9er Football 12 Tue Aug 21, 2007 05:24pm
Punt Question New AZ Ref Football 6 Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:56am
Punt question MOFFICIAL Football 2 Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am
Punt Question jwaz Football 8 Tue Oct 21, 2003 04:06pm
Question re: punt FBFAN Football 1 Tue Oct 07, 2003 09:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1