The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2008, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Question for the board

This came up in our local clinic last night:

Airborne receiver catches a pass and the defender forces him OOB where he first touches the ground OOB. I think we'll all agree that, by rule, if the WR would have come down inbounds without the contact, this a catch.

The question is about forward progress and clock status. The case book addresses the clock under 3.4.3 sit C, which is that the clock shall be stopped in this situation. However, it is unclear whether this would be the case if the airborne WR is driven backwards OOB. Do we give the receiver both forward progress AND a stopped clock?

I'm leaning toward him getting both. There is a case play addressing forward progress of an airborne receiver (somewhere in Rule 2) as it pertains to the end zone. The ruling is that is airborne above the endzone and a defender forces back to the field of play, it is a TD. So obviously an airborne WR forced backward is entitled to forward progress.

Some dissension in our group on this, so I thought I'd throw it out there.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2008, 09:40pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Airborne receiver catches a pass and the defender forces him OOB where he first touches the ground OOB. I think we'll all agree that, by rule, if the WR would have come down inbounds without the contact, this a catch.

The question is about forward progress and clock status.
CANADIAN RULING:

The rulings depend on a few things, as outlined in the bullets below:
  • Before the 3-minute warning
    • Pushed OOB further than the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline
      • Clock is stopped when the ball carrier lands OOB
      • Clock on the RFP
    • Pushed OOB behind the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot of catch
      • Clock is not stopped
      • Clock on the RFP
  • After the 3-minute warning
    • Pushed OOB further than the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline
      • Clock is stopped when the ball carrier lands OOB
      • Clock on the snap
    • Pushed OOB behind the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot of catch
      • Clock is stopped when the official rules that forward progress was stopped
      • Clock on the RFP
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Wed Jul 30, 2008 at 03:41pm. Reason: re-read my post to confirm accuracy and found the mistake
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
Why would you not give forward progress? What caused the clock to be stopped? (answer that and you have your answer as to when it should be started) You mention there is dissension among your group over how this would be ruled. I'd love to hear the arguements over why the player shouldn't be given forward progress and why the clock shouldn't be stopped.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
The way I see it if you are giving forward progress then you are ruling he didn't go OOB prior to making the catch. And if you have forward progress then he didn't go OOB on his own. Say this play happened a yard further in-bounds and after he caught the ball he was driven back and OOB. Would you stop the clock just because he was pushed OOB? If you would then you should stop it in the force-out play. But I say that if you are marking forward progress then you can't also say that the ball became dead OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 278
You always give forward progress, period. There is no rule that makes an exception. Forward progress and OOB have no interactive relationship. Ruling one, does not cause the other. Your example of a player being stopped IB and then pushed OOB makes no sense in regard to the clock. The play is over when forward momentum (progress) is stopped. Let's say a player is running toward his opponent's goal line, he reaches forward, extending the ball OOB over the goal line extended, but is knocked OOB at the 1 yard line. Do you not have a TD? Did you not award forward progress? Did you not rule that he was knocked OOB?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: When the receiver is driven backwards and OOB, of course you give him his forward progress. But remember that his forward progress was awarded inbounds and therefore there is no reason to stop the clock for a runner being OOB. Keep it running. If however there was a foul during the play, or if that forward progress was beyond the line to gain, you will be stopping the clock, but for a different reason. And that reason will cause the clock to next start on the RFP.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
This topic is brought up as a case play in the 2008 High School Football Book
"Rules by Topic" Rules, Caseplays, Rationales Linked. For those of you that have the book, look on page 133 3.4.3 Situation C describes the following case play.

Receiver A1 controls a pass while airborne near A's sideline. B1 contacts A1 who then lands out of bounds in possession of the ball. The covering official rules a completed pass because B1's contact caused A1 to land out of bounds.

Ruling: The clock is stopped because of the receiver being out of bounds, not due to his forward progress being stopped inbounds; therefore, the clock will start with the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2008, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtwbam
This topic is brought up as a case play in the 2008 High School Football Book
"Rules by Topic" Rules, Caseplays, Rationales Linked. For those of you that have the book, look on page 133 3.4.3 Situation C describes the following case play.

Receiver A1 controls a pass while airborne near A's sideline. B1 contacts A1 who then lands out of bounds in possession of the ball. The covering official rules a completed pass because B1's contact caused A1 to land out of bounds.

Ruling: The clock is stopped because of the receiver being out of bounds, not due to his forward progress being stopped inbounds; therefore, the clock will start with the snap.
GT, I don't see anything in this example that states whether B1's contact drove A1 backward, laterally, or forward before going out of bounds. Unless there's more information to add I don't see anything that contradicts Bob M's interpretation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 07:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Guys, check out case play 4.3.3 (B)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2008, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
(I misread a rule listing and must delete a statement)

I still say you can't rule forward progress stopped in-bounds as well as having the runner causing the ball to become dead OOB. If you stop the clock then you must mark the ball where it crossed the side line. 2-41-3 says the dead-ball spot is where the ball becomes dead by rule. 2-41-5 says the OOB spot is where it became dead by going OOB. These are different spots in this play and only one of them is a clear clock stopper.

But in my 12 years of officiating I still have yet to see a force-out play.

Last edited by Warrenkicker; Thu Jul 31, 2008 at 01:30pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question about your associations board of directors responsibilities. rei Baseball 6 Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:20am
Obstruction question from the NFHS board BlitzkriegBob Softball 26 Tue Jan 08, 2008 07:21pm
Slow board dumb question time mplagrow Basketball 12 Sat Jun 04, 2005 08:24pm
Question for board. dsimp8 Basketball 21 Wed Mar 12, 2003 11:26am
Thanks board Hawks Coach Basketball 3 Wed Dec 04, 2002 08:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1