View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 29, 2008, 09:40pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
Airborne receiver catches a pass and the defender forces him OOB where he first touches the ground OOB. I think we'll all agree that, by rule, if the WR would have come down inbounds without the contact, this a catch.

The question is about forward progress and clock status.
CANADIAN RULING:

The rulings depend on a few things, as outlined in the bullets below:
  • Before the 3-minute warning
    • Pushed OOB further than the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline
      • Clock is stopped when the ball carrier lands OOB
      • Clock on the RFP
    • Pushed OOB behind the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot of catch
      • Clock is not stopped
      • Clock on the RFP
  • After the 3-minute warning
    • Pushed OOB further than the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot where the ball crosses the plane of the sideline
      • Clock is stopped when the ball carrier lands OOB
      • Clock on the snap
    • Pushed OOB behind the spot of catch
      • Forward progress is the spot of catch
      • Clock is stopped when the official rules that forward progress was stopped
      • Clock on the RFP
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Wed Jul 30, 2008 at 03:41pm. Reason: re-read my post to confirm accuracy and found the mistake
Reply With Quote