The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 06:53am
Official Forum Member

New official advice

I am just starting out officiating and wanted to get some advice. I won't be able to work game due to my current work schedule until this fall but wanted to get familiar with rules, etc. well before then.

I wanted to know if there was anything, other than watching officials working games, the rule book, case book and manual that would be good to have or be helpful in learning rules (i.e. different forms of the rule book, etc.). I know there are some different types of rule books, like the rule book illustrated, so wanted input and help on deciding what to purchase.

Thanks in advance for all your help.
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 08:31am
Official Forum Member

First find out which rules your state uses. Purchase the rule book and the case book. Many new officials also seem to like the illustrated book. It might also be helpful to get the book that shows the differences between NCAA and NFHS rules. Find a clinic and attend!
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 12:16pm
Archaic Power Monger

I just finished my first year and I honestly didn't find the Simplified and Illustrated book that useful. A study guide I would highly recommend is the Redding Study Guide for NFHS Rules.

You can purchase it at www.honigs.com or www.doublesdistributors.com .

Also, check out www.usafootball.com . They have some good free material on there and I hear the material on the paid side is very good as well.

Otherwise, I just spent some time reading the forums and going over plays with fellow officials. I obviously have much to learn but I feel I had a pretty good start.
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66
It might also be helpful to get the book that shows the differences between NCAA and NFHS rules.