The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Fg attempt botched what happens next???

For some of the new guys just get your mind going.

Team A has 3rd and 7 at B's 20 yard line. Line of scrimmage)

Team A/K is in a scrimmage kick formation/field goal formation.

They decide to attempt the game winning field goal.

Holder A10 drops the snap and run out of bounds at B's 15 yardline.

1) whose ball and what down?

The kick by A-K3 is blocked and recovered by A55 at B's 15 yardline.

2) whose ball and what down?

The kick by A-K3 is blocked and recovered by A55 at B's 24 yardline.

3) whose ball and what down?
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
1) K's ball 4&2 @ 15- Clock will start on snap
2) R's ball 1&10 @15 - Clock will start on snap
3) K's ball 4&12 @ 24 - Clock will start on ready
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
Fed rulings is what i am asking for, not sure what difference there is with ncaa.
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 02:39pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
For some of the new guys just get your mind going.

Team A has 3rd and 7 at B's 20 yard line. Line of scrimmage)

Team A/K is in a scrimmage kick formation/field goal formation.

They decide to attempt the game winning field goal.

Holder A10 drops the snap and run out of bounds at B's 15 yardline.

1) whose ball and what down?

The kick by A-K3 is blocked and recovered by A55 at B's 15 yardline.

2) whose ball and what down?

The kick by A-K3 is blocked and recovered by A55 at B's 24 yardline.

3) whose ball and what down?
Please clarify the meaning of "game winning field goal". If your intent was to tell us that at the snap, the offense is losing by 2 or 1 points, or that the game is tied, and if successful, the defense scores no more, then I fail to see why the score matters. If your intent was to tell us that after this play, there is no time left on the clock, then I think you need to clarify that.

Since Canada uses 3 downs, I will change the sitch to be 2D/7 @ B-20 in our game.

CANADIAN RULING:
  1. Gain of 8 on the play. If there is time left, 3D/2 @ B-15. Clock on the snap.
  2. Gain of 8 on the play. If there is time left, 3D/2 @ B-15. Clock on the RFP.
  3. Loss of 4 on the play. If there is time left, 3D/11 @ B-24. Clock on the RFP.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2007, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton
3) K's ball 4&12 @ 24 - Clock will start on ready
Why would the clock ever stop in this play? The ball didn't cross the neutral zone, and the kicking team was tackled in bounds short of the line to gain. And, there is no change of possession.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2007, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Under NFHS rules:

#1 - A's ball, 4th and 2 from B's 15. Clock starts on the snap.

#2 - A's ball, 4th and 2 from B's 15. Clock doesn't stop.

#3 - A's ball, 4th and 11 from B's 24. Clock doesn't stop.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zebra in NC
Under NFHS rules:

#2 - A's ball, 4th and 2 from B's 15. Clock doesn't stop.
Are you sure you want to let A, or K, down a scrimmage kick beyond the original line-of-scrimmage and let them keep the ball? This would be like letting K recover a punt for a first down 20 yards down field when R never touched the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenkicker
Are you sure you want to let A, or K, down a scrimmage kick beyond the original line-of-scrimmage and let them keep the ball? This would be like letting K recover a punt for a first down 20 yards down field when R never touched the ball.
I suppose there ought to be a little clarification. If the kick is blocked and K/A recovers behind the LOS, and returns it to the 15, then it's 4th and 2.

But, if the kick is recovered beyond the LOS by K/A, would it be 1st and 10 for B/R (because A/K lost their right to the ball once they kicked it)?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 03, 2007, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zebra in NC

But, if the kick is recovered beyond the LOS by K/A, would it be 1st and 10 for B/R (because A/K lost their right to the ball once they kicked it)?
YUP, you kick it beyond the LOS you give it up unless touched there by R and then you manage to recover it. Does not matter whether it is 1st or 4th down. We are of course assuming the block (touching by R) was behind the expanded neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 05:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 38
Follow Up Question to those proposed

I am only a coach so I may be off base here, but don't the answers to the block kicked portions of these questions depend on where the kick was blocked at? For example, if the kick was blocked beyond the LOS then B retains the ball under these scenarios.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by Husker John
I am only a coach so I may be off base here, but don't the answers to the block kicked portions of these questions depend on where the kick was blocked at? For example, if the kick was blocked beyond the LOS then B retains the ball under these scenarios.
True. "Blocked kick" is a defined term in Canadian football, but not USAn, but AFAIK it's not used in USAn rules anyway. (Like the way "charged down" was not defined for a very long time in Rugby Union.) I think, however, we understood the situation described to be one where the kicked ball is rising or level and where team R can react to it only rapidly and not have a chance to catch it, so that will almost always happen in or on team K's side of the neutral zone, expanded.

Robert
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is This an Attempt? cshs81 Basketball 18 Mon Mar 12, 2007 07:04am
Handling "botched" calls... ljudge Football 22 Wed Jun 15, 2005 07:26am
3 point attempt Bchill24 Basketball 2 Wed Dec 05, 2001 11:17am
AP OFF BOTCHED TIP PROPE Basketball 2 Mon Feb 28, 2000 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1