The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
Citation, please.

Holder, kicker in place, exception applies.
Yep. Got this one wrong ASSUMED that the holder must be in scrimmage kick formation. Not true.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 03:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
BoBo -

Eligible receivers are the backs and those on the end of the line (if properly numbered). So, assuming the center is still on the end of the line, he is still eligible.

Eligibility begins at the snap - if eligible when the down begins, a player is eligible during the entire down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
Eligibility begins at the snap - if eligible when the down begins, a player is eligible during the entire down.
This is not entirely true. If a player with an eligible number assumes an initial position on the line under the numbering exception (7-2-5b exc.) during a scrimmage kick he remains ineligible throughout the play regardless of whether he shifts to an eligible position or not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
the reason i bring this up is following situation.

Center A44 is the snapper.

Team A is in swinging gate formation.

Lined up to the side as follows.

85 - 75 - 66 - 62 - 75 - 88 - (then center of the field is) 44
up backs are 32 and 25

holder is 10
kicker is 3

Ready for play is blown and A44 puts his hands on the ball.

If they fake it the elgibles are 85, 32, 25, 10, 3, and 44

Now his hands are on the ball and they shift to fg/pat formation.

the line looks like this (85-75-66-44-62-75-88)

can 88 be inelgible and then elgible with the shift??
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: BoBo...for your play, after the shift, #88 remains ineligible. The reason is that there are less than five numbered 50-79 on the line at the snap, so the numbering exception is in effect. Since #88 took a position initially as an interior lineman under the numbering exception, he remains ineligible for the down.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
thank you for reassuring my thoughts.

now when does elgibility begin in this situation?

when the center places his hands on the ball?

i am sure we have all had this play and 88 begins as inelgible, then we have a had a bad snap and i am sure he goes out for a pass.

Honestly how many of us miss/let this go?

Explaining the rule to the coach will be lots of fun. And I am sure it will respond "we have always done it this way and it has never been flagged before"

just my two cents worth
__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoBo
thank you for reassuring my thoughts.

now when does elgibility begin in this situation?

when the center places his hands on the ball?
You determine eligibility when everyone is set. The position of the snapper's hands have no bearing.

Quote:
i am sure we have all had this play and 88 begins as inelgible, then we have a had a bad snap and i am sure he goes out for a pass.

Honestly how many of us miss/let this go?
It's my job (umpire) to see that we don't miss this. The first time I see this formation I'll make a mental note of anyone who's ineligible by position. As soon as I get a chance I'm writing those numbers on my game card.

Quote:
Explaining the rule to the coach will be lots of fun. And I am sure it will respond "we have always done it this way and it has never been flagged before"
Give this comment the same credence as you do any other similar comment from a coach. You weren't at last week's game and have no way of confirming if they did get away with this.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 18, 2007, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
If in a scrimmage kick formation (7 yards or more behind LOS), 88 can't become eligible. This applies only to scrimmage kick formation - he originally lined up as a lineman. The restriction starts after the ready for play. Once they leave the huddle and go somewhere in a scrimmage kick formation, they are stuck with that status.

In my original play (holder was 4 yards behind LOS), 88 can become eligible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1