The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Mull it over (https://forum.officiating.com/football/38889-mull-over.html)

wisref2 Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:33pm

Mull it over
 
PAT. A lines up in the swinging gate (which doesn't really matter much in this situation).

A2 lines up 4-yards behind the line of scrimmage as a holder. There is a kicker also lined up.

Ball is snapped to A2, who has a knee on the ground but is not in legal scrimmage kick formation (not 7 yards behind LOS).

What things do you have to watch for, what rules apply?

Also, the center, who is on the end of the line, is number 30. What rules apply and don't apply concerning the center?

bigjohn Tue Oct 16, 2007 01:23pm

no roughing the snapper protection! he is eligible!

parepat Tue Oct 16, 2007 01:30pm

Play is dead when he receives the snap with his knee on the ground.

Rich Tue Oct 16, 2007 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by parepat
Play is dead when he receives the snap with his knee on the ground.

Citation, please.

Holder, kicker in place, exception applies.

Welpe Tue Oct 16, 2007 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn
no roughing the snapper protection! he is eligible!

Since when has that been a criteria for snapper protection?

l3will Tue Oct 16, 2007 07:40pm

Since the dead ball exception only states that a teammate be in kicking position,
I don't believe that you can blow it dead. Read the exceptions to rule 4-2-2 carefully.

As far as I know the scrimmage kick formation only exempts the kicking team from the numbering requirements to have at least five players numbered 50-79 on the line of scrimmage and roughing the snapper... both of those explicitly
mention "scrimmage-kick formation"

This does not alter the other rules pertaining to a scrimmage kick,
dead ball exceptions for holder with knees on ground.

waltjp Tue Oct 16, 2007 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
Since when has that been a criteria for snapper protection?

I believe John's talking about two separate items. There is no protection for the snapper because this is not a scrimmage kick formation. To be considered a scrimmage kick formation the holder would have to be positioned 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage.

The snapper is an eligible receiver because he's lined up on the end of the line and is wearing an eligible number.

The other point to keep in mind is that the numbering exceptions do not apply in this formation. There must be 5 players numbered 50-79 on the line.

JugglingReferee Tue Oct 16, 2007 09:40pm

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wisref2
PAT. A lines up in the swinging gate (which doesn't really matter much in this situation).

A2 lines up 4-yards behind the line of scrimmage as a holder. There is a kicker also lined up.

Ball is snapped to A2, who has a knee on the ground but is not in legal scrimmage kick formation (not 7 yards behind LOS).

What things do you have to watch for, what rules apply?

Also, the center, who is on the end of the line, is number 30. What rules apply and don't apply concerning the center?

CANADIAN RULING:

There are no additional or deletions to normal rules simply because the holder is {only} 4 yards behind the LS.

Holder and kicker are protected. Knee has to come up for a legal pass. Centre eligible.

Welpe Tue Oct 16, 2007 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp
There is no protection for the snapper because this is not a scrimmage kick formation. To be considered a scrimmage kick formation the holder would have to be positioned 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage.

That I agree with but as I read John's statement, I took it to mean that he was saying that the snapper receives no protection because he is eligible. Now that I've re-read it, I am inclined to agree with your interpretation of his post.

If John weren't grunting like the typical coach, maybe his post would've been easier to understand. ;)

Quote:

The snapper is an eligible receiver because he's lined up on the end of the line and is wearing an eligible number.

The other point to keep in mind is that the numbering exceptions do not apply in this formation. There must be 5 players numbered 50-79 on the line.
Good points and I agree.

wisref2 Wed Oct 17, 2007 09:54am

I saw this formation and decided to dig into the rule book a bit. It was fun, that's why I posted this thread.

No protection for the snapper - it is not a scrimmage kick formation.

The center is eligible by number and position.

No numbering exception, not a scrimmage kick formation.

Holder CAN receive the snap with a knee on the ground. That exception applies because there is a teammate lined up as a kicker. The exception has nothing to do with scrimmage kick formation (this is the one I almost kicked!).

BoBo Wed Oct 17, 2007 01:34pm

another twist to this play
 
lets say the line shift over to kick the point.

now who are your elgible receivers??

is the center still elgible??

once an inelgible always inelgible??

when does inelgibility begin and end for players??

:confused: :rolleyes: :eek: :p

parepat Wed Oct 17, 2007 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN
Citation, please.

Holder, kicker in place, exception applies.

Yep. Got this one wrong ASSUMED that the holder must be in scrimmage kick formation. Not true.

wisref2 Wed Oct 17, 2007 03:31pm

BoBo -

Eligible receivers are the backs and those on the end of the line (if properly numbered). So, assuming the center is still on the end of the line, he is still eligible.

Eligibility begins at the snap - if eligible when the down begins, a player is eligible during the entire down.

waltjp Wed Oct 17, 2007 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wisref2
Eligibility begins at the snap - if eligible when the down begins, a player is eligible during the entire down.

This is not entirely true. If a player with an eligible number assumes an initial position on the line under the numbering exception (7-2-5b exc.) during a scrimmage kick he remains ineligible throughout the play regardless of whether he shifts to an eligible position or not.

BoBo Wed Oct 17, 2007 04:41pm

the reason i bring this up is following situation.

Center A44 is the snapper.

Team A is in swinging gate formation.

Lined up to the side as follows.

85 - 75 - 66 - 62 - 75 - 88 - (then center of the field is) 44
up backs are 32 and 25

holder is 10
kicker is 3

Ready for play is blown and A44 puts his hands on the ball.

If they fake it the elgibles are 85, 32, 25, 10, 3, and 44

Now his hands are on the ball and they shift to fg/pat formation.

the line looks like this (85-75-66-44-62-75-88)

can 88 be inelgible and then elgible with the shift??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1