The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 16, 2007, 09:44pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
There is no protection for the snapper because this is not a scrimmage kick formation. To be considered a scrimmage kick formation the holder would have to be positioned 7 yards behind the line of scrimmage.
That I agree with but as I read John's statement, I took it to mean that he was saying that the snapper receives no protection because he is eligible. Now that I've re-read it, I am inclined to agree with your interpretation of his post.

If John weren't grunting like the typical coach, maybe his post would've been easier to understand.

Quote:
The snapper is an eligible receiver because he's lined up on the end of the line and is wearing an eligible number.

The other point to keep in mind is that the numbering exceptions do not apply in this formation. There must be 5 players numbered 50-79 on the line.
Good points and I agree.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers

Last edited by Welpe; Tue Oct 16, 2007 at 09:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
I saw this formation and decided to dig into the rule book a bit. It was fun, that's why I posted this thread.

No protection for the snapper - it is not a scrimmage kick formation.

The center is eligible by number and position.

No numbering exception, not a scrimmage kick formation.

Holder CAN receive the snap with a knee on the ground. That exception applies because there is a teammate lined up as a kicker. The exception has nothing to do with scrimmage kick formation (this is the one I almost kicked!).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 17, 2007, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianola, Ia
Posts: 319
another twist to this play

lets say the line shift over to kick the point.

now who are your elgible receivers??

is the center still elgible??

once an inelgible always inelgible??

when does inelgibility begin and end for players??

__________________
"Call what you see and see what you call!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1