The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2007, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: I agree. Snapper is still protected, but I'm a little concerned with A2 on the end of the line, then going in motion.
Why - the OP specifically says he was 5 yards back at the snap. Sounds legal to me.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2007, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
I almost had a first last week. I had an end go in motion while on the line. He lined up as an end and then stated running slowly along the line toward the sideline. At first I thought he was going to reset, but then he started running slower and slower as he got near the sideline. I was waiting for the snap to throw my flag but an interior lineman jumped and spoiled my fun.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 04, 2007, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 162
If he stops between the center and the kicker the center loses his protection.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Why - the OP specifically says he was 5 yards back at the snap. Sounds legal to me.
REPLY: You're right. I had missed the fact that he was 5 yards back.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
I have always thought only an end could go in motion. But the way the rule is written, I think any body on the line could go in motion - as long as he can still shift (not in 3 or 4 point stance) and is at least five yards deep at the snap. True?
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbref
I have always thought only an end could go in motion. But the way the rule is written, I think any body on the line could go in motion - as long as he can still shift (not in 3 or 4 point stance) and is at least five yards deep at the snap. True?
You still need 7 on the line at the snap, no matter who has gone into motion. This is why you'll see a TE take an initial position on the line with the WR lined up outside of him off the line, the TE then steps back off the line while the WR moves up to the line. After they're both set for a second the TE will go into motion.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
You still need 7 on the line at the snap, no matter who has gone into motion. This is why you'll see a TE take an initial position on the line with the WR lined up outside of him off the line, the TE then steps back off the line while the WR moves up to the line. After they're both set for a second the TE will go into motion.
Agree, still must have seven on the line at the snap and a shift is certainly a way to establish him as a back. What if the WR was on the line (8th man) covering the TE and everyone is set. I am saying the TE may still go in motion from the line as long as he was in a 2 point stance (may still shift) and is at least 5 yards behind the line at the snap. It could apply to a guard or tackle as well.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 05, 2007, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: dumbref...you're correct, and certainly not dumb.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OOB Play- Legal or Not??? BOBBYMO Basketball 15 Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:10pm
legal play or not? yankeesfan Football 2 Thu Oct 23, 2003 09:20pm
Ready for play vs. snapper touching the ball (NF please) BktBallRef Football 2 Thu Dec 13, 2001 12:03am
Long snapper incident zebraman55 Football 5 Mon Nov 12, 2001 03:10pm
Snapper Protection don16954 Football 7 Mon Nov 12, 2001 01:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1