The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 02, 2007, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
You've kind of messed up the team labels here. Remember, when describing a play - the designations at the beginning of the down continue throughout the down. On a kick play - the kicking team is K (not A) and the receivers are R, not B.
No, they're still A & B, but in addition, they're K & R.

There are circumstances in which the ball's "belonging to" B after the play described in the post at 3:16 would be correct. The initial poster didn't state where the previous spot was, nor the down & line to gain.

Presumably the punt was a kick from scrimmage. If B's/R's touching of the ball occurred on A's/K's side of the neutral zone, and then A's/K's recovery of the ball occurred there too, and the 30 yard line where it became dead was not beyond the line to gain, and it was last down, then in all North American codes the next series would be awarded to B on downs. It would be material that the touching of the ball was a mere muff (or in Canadian football, a blocked kick) rather than possession and a fumble. So maybe this was the scenario.

ISTR that in one code (Fed?), it wouldn't matter where R's touching of the ball occurred, if K recovered in or behind the expanded neutral zone. Or am I just imagining that difference?

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 02, 2007, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Is it possible that we have first touching by K(A) and as a result B will still get the ball. This is the only way the original's post makes any sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 04, 2007, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Jeremy...there is obviously a lot of confusion and speculation as to what you were actually describing. May I suggest this: Restate the play using "blue" and "white" rather than A, B, K, or R. Also, give us the down and distance and where all the pertinent 'touches' of the ball took place. Then, we can be sure to help you understand what might have happened or if the officials might possibly just have messed it up.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 05, 2007, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Jeremy...there is obviously a lot of confusion and speculation as to what you were actually describing. May I suggest this: Restate the play using "blue" and "white" rather than A, B, K, or R. Also, give us the down and distance and where all the pertinent 'touches' of the ball took place. Then, we can be sure to help you understand what might have happened or if the officials might possibly just have messed it up.
I've watched the tape and I think I've got it. They missed the call but they didn't communicate well obviously.

Blue (kicking team) punts the ball to White (receiving team). Whites PR has the ball bounce off his shoulder pads in an attempt to catch the punt. Blue gunner recovers the ball. The officials rule that it was a muff and that it is White ball at the spot.

It should've been Blue ball where it was recovered.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Muff Confusion mstumbo Football 11 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:30pm
Muff Rule U52 Football 4 Mon Oct 10, 2005 02:21pm
Muff Pt. 2 FredFan7 Football 8 Wed Dec 10, 2003 12:16pm
Muff Pt. 1 FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Dec 08, 2003 01:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1