The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 09, 2007, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by HL Clippenchain
What if it travels just past the LOS but while it's still in the air, it blows back behind the LOS and is recovered by K? R never touches it. Is it K's ball or R's?
In all codes, the fact that the ball was in the air or on the ground beyond the neutral zone is irrelevant if while it was there it didn't touch and wasn't touched by a player of K (before or without being touched by R). In all USAn codes in that case, with K's recovery on K's side of the neutral zone, K's team possession continues, and the series of downs continues; this has been the case since 1930. In Canadian football, the right to the ball depends whether the recovering player was onside or offside, but the series of downs ends if the ball touched the ground on R's side of the LOS.

Robert
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal formation greghaverkate43 Football 1 Fri Aug 25, 2006 07:07pm
formation (NFHS) MI Official Football 28 Mon Oct 11, 2004 08:22am
Illegal Formation Florida Rookie Football 7 Fri Oct 08, 2004 02:25pm
Legal Formation? Rackster Football 3 Sat Oct 25, 2003 08:06pm
Interesting formation sm_bbcoach Football 7 Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1