The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grey Hare
My understanding is that it will be R's ball at the out of bounds spot. The contact is ignored since K blocked R into the ball.

GH
If that's the case, would you have a free kick OOB?
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fayette Missouri
Posts: 100
I suppose that R would have the option of taking the ball at the out of bounds spot. They would also be able to back K up 5 yards and rekick, or have it 1/10 at the R 35

Forced touching is no touching
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 29
I believe that would be true. 5 yd penalty on the kicking team, enforced from the previous spot. I don't have my rule books with me, but that seems correct.
GH
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 29
Along with the other options mentioned by cougar......
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 20, 2007, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
Just to clarify, the touching of R in this situation will be ignored only if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into the ball. It would not be ignored if, while R was blocking K, the ball bounced back into R. This same play happened in the Oklahoma-Boise State game. R1 was blocking K1 on a punt when the ball hit the ground and took a bounce back toward the line of scrimmage and struck R in the back while he was in contact with K1. The ball was then recovered by K2 and K got possession.

In other words, just because blocking is going on, the touching is not ignored. K has to force the touching.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kick Play Kirby Football 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 05:57pm
another kick play MJT Football 12 Tue Aug 22, 2006 09:07pm
Scrimmage kick play chayos Football 20 Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:13pm
Scrimmage kick play grantsrc Football 3 Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:32pm
Trick play on kick-off jmuench Football 3 Thu Sep 18, 2003 10:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1