The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jun 01, 2007, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to Canfootball52
Smile New Guy From Canada

Hi there. I'm new to this message board.
I've been a Football Official in Manitoba, Canada for 11 years now http://www.mfoa.mb.ca. I've worked Midget (15-17 year olds), High School, Major (18-21 years old), and as the support official (yardsticks) at our Professional Football Team's Home Games.
I've been reading some of the rules questinons that have been posted here, and have been trying to relate them to the rules I understand. The problem is I'm having a bit of trouble with some of the terminology being used. In Canada we have Team A and Team B, but we don't have Team A/K and Team B/R. I assume Team A/K is the kicking team, and Team B/R is the return team.
Next month, I'm travelling to Quebec, Canada for the Football Canada Cup http://www.footballcanada.com. It is a National tournament featuring some of the best Under 17 and Under 19 football players in Canada. I will be working the Under 17 tournament. I'm really looking forward to this as this is a prestigious event in Amateur Football in Canada.
I look forward participating in many discussions, and learning the differences and similarities between the 3 Down game, and the 4 Down game.
Old Fri Jun 01, 2007, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member

Welcome aboard! JugglingReferee is another canadian official who posts often on this site. You are correct about K and R being the kicking and return teams. Things are a bit slow right now, but will pick up throughout the summer.

A couple of other links to officials discussion boards you may want to look at are, http://www.nfhs.org/cgi-bin/ultimate...?ubb=forum;f=9 which is for national federation ball only, and http://www.refstripes.com/forum/index.php#1 which has NF and NCAA discussions.