![]() |
|
|
|||||||||||
Quote:
It looks like Referee Mag took the play directly from the case book. Overall, Referee Mag does a pretty darned good job. Do they make mistakes? Yes. Should they make mistakes? No. But I think you can learn a lot from their publication. Way more than by not reading it. This is a perfect example. Their ruling doesn't seem right to you. You post it here. Not only does it encourage you to dig into the rule books a little (which I assume you and your crew members did prior to sending them an email), it encourages all those who read to get into their books as well. That's a good thing. BTW- Correct me if I am wrong but this ruling looks to be true for NCAA as well. 7-3-11 says that the touching must be intentional for it to be illegal touching. Agreed?
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
|
|||
Yep, NCAA requires that touching be intentional in this case in order to be a foul. There are other cases where a ball can be accidentally touched and there be a problem but in the case of a pass hitting an ineligible, if not intentional by the ineligible, not a foul.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I thought this was illegal touching but from what I read in 7-3-11 it appears as though the codes agree, at least in part. This 'originally ineligible' phrase is tripping me up again. The only way for an ineligible (at the snap) to become eligible is for an opponent to touch a pass. Correct? So, what is the significance of "originally" there for? |
|
|||
I guess they're getting at "lineman".
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This is just nit picking here, but, in the NFHS (I know you guys in TX don't use it), there is a provision, somewhere, off the top of my head I am not sure where, that says eligible receivers at the snap remain eligible for the entire down.....however it is illegal to go out of bounds and come back in and be the first to touch the ball
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
In NFHS, if a receiver goes out voluntarily and comes back, isn't it illegal participation if they come back?
Edit: I knew I should've clarified that better!
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. Last edited by grantsrc; Tue Feb 20, 2007 at 04:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at http://resources.refstripes.com If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Referee Magazine... | WhistlesAndStripes | Basketball | 0 | Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:23pm |
Referee Magazine | bkbjones | Softball | 1 | Thu May 19, 2005 03:51pm |
REFEREE magazine | john reed | Baseball | 3 | Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:58pm |
Referee Magazine | Jay R | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 29, 2003 07:17pm |
Referee Magazine | APHP | Basketball | 9 | Sun Mar 03, 2002 10:59pm |