The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
During discussion in the chatroom I think we "experts" agreed the player had inititated the contact and was blocking, not be ing blocked, hence the touch counted.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
During discussion in the chatroom I think we "experts" agreed the player had inititated the contact and was blocking, not be ing blocked, hence the touch counted.
It even appeared that there was some quick discussion by the officials after the play was dead. I assume they may have been discussing that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
One thing I saw about the try for Oklahoma where they had the illegal shift is that the "tight end" who went in motion and then caught the ball appeared to be lined up on the LOS and went in motion along the LOS. When I first saw it I thought he was just shifting and I was convinced of that because he started before the wing had stopped and then they snapped the ball before the "tight end" stopped. I would like to see that formation again to see because I thought that the replay confirmed what I thought I saw. I could be wrong but maybe one of you out there has a copy of the game and can look at that again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2007, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
When I saw what a terrific finish it was going to be, I backed up the DVR to the point of BSU's final punt and recorded until the end.

The illegal shift was the correct call. As soon as the ball was snapped I said "illegal shift." After the catch, the announcers said, "There's a flag on the play," I knew what it was.

The TE that caught the ball went in motion/shifted before the other TE completed his shift. I honestly don't know if there was suppoed to be motion or if they were both supposed to shift and reset but he did not reset for 1 second before the ball was snapped. A call went each way, the crew got it right and they made both teams play a third try until they got it right.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Jan 02, 2007 at 01:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Well Tony, since you have the game on DVR please check to see if the tight end in motion was on the LOS or was a back. I knew as soon as the ball was snapped that there was a foul but it surprised me to see them snap the ball with the tight end still moving.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2007, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
I, too, saw the TE in motion along the LOS. The penalty is the same and both rules (motion,shift) rules were violated so take your pick.

I thought the DPI in the EZ on the try was classic arm bar.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
I also thought on Boise's touchdown play in overtime, that when the QB went in motion, he definitely turned upfield before the snap.

Myself and another official were both watching the highlights on Youtube this morning, and we both sort of caught that at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
I also thought on Boise's touchdown play in overtime, that when the QB went in motion, he definitely turned upfield before the snap.

Myself and another official were both watching the highlights on Youtube this morning, and we both sort of caught that at the same time.
What bearing did his act have on the subsequent action which resulted in the score? Did it give his team an advantage?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
What bearing did his act have on the subsequent action which resulted in the score? Did it give his team an advantage?

So we're supposed to start judging advantage/disadvantage on illegal shift/motion/formation?

When did we start that? Didn't get that memo.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2007, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenOfNC
So we're supposed to start judging advantage/disadvantage on illegal shift/motion/formation?

When did we start that? Didn't get that memo.
The advanced official knows when a flag is warranted and when it is not. In that specific situation it was not. As has been pretty accurately described by a fellow poster on another site:

"You don't need to pre-determine. It only takes an extra second or two. While that is an eternity for uneducated fans and sportswriters it shouldn't be for us. Simply hold your flag and then determine whether it affected it or not. Which I'm sure is what the wing official did here. The play went away so he held it. If it would have come his way at all I'm sure you would have seen a flag."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NC State vs. Florida State GPC2 Football 12 Fri Oct 06, 2006 11:09pm
moving to Boise Idaho blewthat Basketball 6 Wed Jan 11, 2006 04:13pm
State Government Defeated in Attempt to Control State Association mikesears Football 14 Wed Apr 20, 2005 07:35am
Home-state tourneys versus out of state tourneys FUBLUE Softball 12 Thu Jun 24, 2004 07:43pm
What state am I in? Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Wed Jun 12, 2002 11:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1