The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Confused about 1-point safeties... (https://forum.officiating.com/football/30229-confused-about-1-point-safeties.html)

ljudge Sun Dec 17, 2006 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike22Official
And I'm assuming that A's force is what carries the ball past the line to gain.

Don't use the term "force" in this context. It's simply a fumble that happens to become dead while still in possession of team A past the line to gain so therefore a first down for A.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smiley
FORCE only applies to balls going into B's endzone.

Untrue. The term "force" is used in connection with the goal line, any goal line whether it be B's or A's.

CruiseMan Sun Dec 17, 2006 03:36pm

Just out of curiosity. In the "Team A scores a 1pt safety" scenario. What is the proper signal for the covering official to give? We're going to have B lying on the ball in their own endzone. I guess we'd signal Safety and then let the referee explain that by rule, A is awarded one point.

Smiley Sun Dec 17, 2006 04:17pm

Correct. And LJ is correct also, force applies to both goal lines.

bluezebra Sun Dec 17, 2006 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike22Official
Yeah I read after posting that the ball becomes dead on tries once B gains possession. I never knew that about high school ball.

But what's the call for NCAA and NFL?

In the NFL, B can not score on A's try for PAT.

Bob

MJT Sun Dec 17, 2006 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike22Official
So if A has the ball, 4th and 5 on the 50, and fumbles at the 50, the ball rolls forward and out of bounds at Team B's 43 yard line, we have a first down for Team A at B's 43? Interesting. I'm surprised this isn't treated like the NCAA treats it.

Yes, it would be a first down for A at the spot the fumble went OOB's.

Bob M. Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:31am

REPLY: Actually, FORCE applies to balls entering EITHER endzone, right Harry?

Smiley Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:44pm

Yes, see my post just below Cruiseman's in which I acknowledge ljudge's correction to my misstatement.

Bob M. Mon Dec 18, 2006 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Smiley
Yes, see my post just below Cruiseman's in which I acknowledge ljudge's correction to my misstatement.

REPLY: smiley...so sorry. I didn't realize that there was a second page to this thread. I thought that your original post was the last one...not just the last one on the page.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1