The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
What is the call?

I was having a 'discussion' with one of the buddies I play flag football with, and was hoping you guys could settle the bet for us. I did some searching around and couldn't find anything about this so I came here. If a player has possession of the ball and his feet break the plane of the endzone as he is running out of bounds, yet the ball does not cross, what is the ruling? Out at the 1 or TD?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
I don't know the rules of flag football, but I guess the rules of scoring are pretty much the same. I would not call a touchdown on that play.

Edit: don't you mean the goal line? The play doesn't make much sense to me....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Yes.. the goalline. My question is not specific to flag football. So the rule on that is that the ball must break the plane right? And the player's feet is not considered an extension of the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 14, 2006, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
To add to this (I don't have my rulebook handy, but I can look it up if you need references), first off, the ball needs to break the vertical plane of the goal line. Note that on a properly marked field, the GL is approximately 4" wide. The actual, technical goal line, is the theoretical, vertical plane on the side of the line facing the field of play. The remaining 3.9999999999 inches of chalk are technically in the end zone.

Next, you might have heard (or eventually hear) the term "extended goal line." Basically, the goal line plane per se does not end at the sideline, but extends indefinitely. As an example, the GL pylon, when properly placed, is located out of bounds at the intersection of the GL and the sideline, however it is "in" the GL extended.

Why does this matter?

Because certain rules apply based on whether the runner is airborne or not when the ball crosses the GL or the extended.

First, if the runner is NOT airborne, then the extended GL is applicable. Basically imagine a runner approaching the end zone near the pylon. If the runner crosses the GL inbounds, however the ball crosses the extended GL outside the sideline (assume the runner is holding the ball out over the sideline in his outside hand so that a defender cannot reach it and try to bat it, etc.), then a touchdown is scored. The key is that if the runner is airborne, then the ball must break the GL plane inside the sidelines.

Second, if a runner is airborne, then the forward progress of the runner (the ball) is determined by the forward point of the ball when it crosses the sideline. In other words, a player can't launch himself diagonally forward and across the sideline at the 2 yard line and 'cross' the extended GL outside the pylon and expect to score a touchdown. In this case, the covering official must decide where the ball crossed the sideline when the runner was in the air. This can be difficult as theoretically the best angle would be a birds-eye view, however with practice and experience, this can be done by being in a position that is close to parallel yardline-wise with the runner, either in front of or in back of the runner (be careful if you are in front, as in being a deep official (FJ/SJ) that is at the pylon with the play coming toward him. conversely, you cannot make this call if you are a wing official (HL/LJ or FJ/SJ that got beat) if you are trailing by several yards and are hence "straightlined" i.e., looking parallel to forward progress as you can see the ball cross the sideline laterally, but you cannot see which yardline is being crossed as the ball is crossing the sideline.

Hopefully this helps...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2006, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by utrook31
Yes.. the goalline. My question is not specific to flag football. So the rule on that is that the ball must break the plane right? And the player's feet is not considered an extension of the ball?
No, feet are not an extension of the ball.

I'm having a hard time picturing your play. If a runner's feet are contacting the ground inbounds, yet the ball is carried in a manor that it passes outside the pylon, you have a TD. That's where the GL extended comes in. Having the feel break the plane of the GL is irrelevant. The main thing is where is the ball in relation to the player being considered inbounds or out of bounds.

Keep in mind, the rules are different from the NFL to NCAA/NFHS.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1