View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2006, 07:05am
grantsrc grantsrc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by utrook31
Yes.. the goalline. My question is not specific to flag football. So the rule on that is that the ball must break the plane right? And the player's feet is not considered an extension of the ball?
No, feet are not an extension of the ball.

I'm having a hard time picturing your play. If a runner's feet are contacting the ground inbounds, yet the ball is carried in a manor that it passes outside the pylon, you have a TD. That's where the GL extended comes in. Having the feel break the plane of the GL is irrelevant. The main thing is where is the ball in relation to the player being considered inbounds or out of bounds.

Keep in mind, the rules are different from the NFL to NCAA/NFHS.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote