The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: I agree with most. Very difficult to call this play illegal.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 06:46am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by whistleone
http://www.idahostatesman.com/104/story/59338.html

Click here to see the play If the video link does not work in the post, it's also available in the article link.
Illegal. Hand offs to a lineman must occur 1 yard off the LS.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Illegal. Hand offs to a lineman must occur 1 yard off the LS.
I understand you are talking Canadian rules here but please clarify your statement. If the lineman must be 1 yard off the LS where is the lineman in this video? As per NF rules he is at least 1 yard behind his line, or is he?

7-3-2
No player may hand the ball forward except during a scrimmage down before a change of possession, provided both players are in or behind the neutral zone and it is to:
a. A lineman who has clearly faced his goal line by moving both feet in a half-turn and is at least 1 yard behind his line when he receives the ball.
b. To a back or a teammate who, at the snap, was on an end of his line and was not the snapper nor adjacent to the snapper.


So in 7-3-2b the rules make a reference to "end of his line." They also use the term "behind his line" in 7-3-2a. Are they referencing the same thing in these two rules? Some may say that "his line" is the offensive side of the neutral zone, which is how I have interpreted it. However with the wording of 7-3-2b, "end of his line," I think they might be stating that "his line" is the group of linemen, which he is one of, in their presnap formation. Since the end of the line-of-scrimmage or neutral zone is at the sideline it is not logical that this player, standing at the sideline, is the only player allowed to be handed to. So if these two rules are in fact referencing the same "line" then the guard would have to turn around and also take one big step backward to meet these requirements to legally accept a forward handoff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trick Play goldcoastump Baseball 6 Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:33pm
Trick Play jack015 Football 17 Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:08am
Lead-off trick play, OBR vs. Fed Lilblue612 Baseball 8 Wed Jul 07, 2004 07:51am
Trick Play alabamabluezebra Football 6 Wed Nov 12, 2003 04:45am
Trick Play Legal? coyotes21 Football 7 Mon Sep 09, 2002 01:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1