The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 22, 2006, 10:28pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
In the Seahawks-Minnesota game, Seattle was called for illegal formation. The WH said it was because the tight-end was covered by a wide receiver. Watching the replay, it looked like they had 8 on the LOS. The play was roll out, and the flag was down before a pass was thrown. If the TE was downfield, I'd think it would be an ineligible downfield.

Does the NFL require exactly 7 on the line? Why was this a foul for illegal formation?
It's an illegal formation foul for an eligible-number receiver to be covered up in the NFL.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 22, 2006, 10:41pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
It's an illegal formation foul for an eligible-number receiver to be covered up in the NFL.
I found this from Markbreit's column:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Markbreit's column

What on earth is an illegal formation penalty for the "wide receiver covering the tight end?" The Bears were hit with two of these in Sunday's game. In 20 years of watching football, I have never heard of that. --Matt, Coralville, Iowa

Under NFL rules, players are numbered for eligibility. Tight ends and wide receivers must be on the end of the line of scrimmage in order to be an eligible pass receiver. If a wide receiver is on the line of scrimmage and a tight end is inside of him, an illegal formation has occurred because another eligible has covered the eligible tight end. The formation would be legal if the wide receiver would drop off of the line of scrimmage so that he is not in a direct line with the tight end.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 23, 2006, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Eligible numbers must be in eligible positions and ineligible numbers must be in ineligible positions. If they want to change their status, they must report to the referee who will then notify the other team.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Sub/Participation/Formation? waltjp Football 8 Wed Sep 13, 2006 01:17pm
Illegal formation greghaverkate43 Football 1 Fri Aug 25, 2006 07:07pm
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 35 Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:16pm
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am
Illegal Formation Florida Rookie Football 7 Fri Oct 08, 2004 02:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1