The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 122
you would only tack on the fifteen at the end of the run if there was no change of position. With the change of possession, you tack on the fifteen from the previous spot and an automatic first down
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
That's correct. It's always an automatic first down, but you tack 15 (or 1/2 the distance) on to the the of the last run if the last run ends beyond the NZ and there was no COP during the down.

So first, let's look that the COP. If there is a COP during the down, regardless of whether A has the ball at the end of the down, if the penalty is accepted, it will always be enforced from the Previous Spot. Now if there has been a COP during the down and A has the ball at the end of the down then you have some penalty options to discuss with A. It's going to be a new series for them whether they accept or decline, so you need to make sure you know which one will give them more yards by accepting or declining.

As for the EOLR enforcement, if team A fumbles and recovers (no COP), it doesn't matter how many times they fumble or if any or all are behind the NZ or if one of the runs goes behind the NZ at some point. All that matters when there is no COP is that if the last run ends beyond the NZ, then that's the enforcement spot.

Now the question that some ask is, does a recovery with no actual 'run' constitute a run?

Example: 2/10 from the A-30. Pass is complete to A81 at the A-36 who runs to the A-45 and fumbles. A85 recovers the ball at the A-40 while on his knees. Do you enforce from the A-45 or the A-40?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 05, 2006, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
Now the question that some ask is, does a recovery with no actual 'run' constitute a run?

Example: 2/10 from the A-30. Pass is complete to A81 at the A-36 who runs to the A-45 and fumbles. A85 recovers the ball at the A-40 while on his knees. Do you enforce from the A-45 or the A-40?
(And there was roughing the passer.)

Under NFHS rules, no. Enforce from A-45. Rulebook justification is tough, since it doesn't define "run", just "end of the run" and "runner". But casebook 9.4.4D addresses this very play.

I believe, under NCAA rules, yes, the recovery creates a final, zero-length run. Therefore, enforce from the A-40.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roughing the passer DrMooreReferee Football 7 Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:40am
Roughing the Passer Suudy Football 11 Fri Nov 04, 2005 02:35pm
Roughing the Passer waltjp Football 6 Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:57am
roughing the passer... Texoma_LJ Football 6 Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:24pm
Roughing the passer michaelpr Football 21 Sat Jul 23, 2005 08:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1