The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NFHS Rules: Pass eligibility for the player on the end of line. (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28401-nfhs-rules-pass-eligibility-player-end-line.html)

grantsrc Thu Sep 21, 2006 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: This is what confuses people. Once there's a player (wideout) also on the line, the TE is no longer an "end." He becomes an interior lineman, governed by all the rules that govern guards and tackles. That's why he's ineligible. Only the players on the end of the line (or backs) are eligible. The coach can call this guy anything he wants, but he's no longer an end when there's a lineman outside him.

But Bob, what about a TE wearing number 62 that reports as eligible before the down? Is he eligible? :cool:

FootballRef05 Thu Sep 21, 2006 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grantsrc
But Bob, what about a TE wearing number 62 that reports as eligible before the down? Is he eligible? :cool:

There is no reporting as eligible in NFHS. He is ineligible by number.

grantsrc Thu Sep 21, 2006 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FootballRef05
There is no reporting as eligible in NFHS. He is ineligible by number.

I know that, hence the face with the sunglasses. I had a junior high coach tell me that once. I smiled simply and said, "this aint sunday coach."

FootballRef05 Thu Sep 21, 2006 03:09pm

Sorry missed the smiley! I though you were asking a question!!! :o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1