The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niner
Disagree. Until a forward pass that crosses the LOS is thrown, the end is a potential blocker. A screen pass, a swing pass, or a QB draw could be run--- to name a few. The "no longer a potential blocker" relates to the pass being thrown another direction and the end being out of the play. If he is blocked after the pass is thrown in his direction, it is DPI.
The location of the ball has nothing to do with blocking potential. Impeding the receiver who is trying to get away from the defender is the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
When he is blocker it is a running play until the pass is thrown. Anything else is flag-happy.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 08:46am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niner
When he is blocker it is a running play until the pass is thrown. Anything else is flag-happy.
If he is blocking, yes, but if he is running a pass route and is even or behind the DB and there is contact, it is illegal use of hands without a doubt. How can you say that is flag happy???? Discussed this many times and been to many clinics and all agree that when he makes his break to get in his route, if there is contact, we have a foul. You are WAY off base on what you are saying!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 415
The key on this play is B51's position in relation to A7. If A7 is even with or behind B51, then it's illegal use of the hands. However, if A7 is between B51 and the line of scrimmage, he's fair game as B51 has a right to move up to make the play and clear out anyone who gets in his way. B51 is not sure if A7is a potential blocker or a potential receiver until he tips his hand by moving by of cutting away from B51. I'd have to see this play but I'd give B51 maybe a little more slack than some of the other posts might suggest.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 09:34am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
But Jim, the post said he is running a drag route. That means is is off the LOS, has made a cut, and is running parellel to the LOS. If he gets knocked off and the QB has the ball looking to pass, we have a foul. Now if the QB is running the option or has handed off, that is another matter. If A has a running play going on, A80 will not be running a pass route, he will be blocking.
Niner makes it sound as if the pass is not in the air, you can do anything to the receiver and it is fine. That is absolutely wrong and you will get crucified by an offensive coach if you do that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 09:46am
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Exactly as I see it. I have this same argument every year with one of the WH in our association. I've learned that if I call this when I'm working with him, he'll wave it off and chew me out. As for the other WHs, I'll continue to call it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
But Jim, the post said he is running a drag route. That means is is off the LOS, has made a cut, and is running parellel to the LOS. If he gets knocked off and the QB has the ball looking to pass, we have a foul.
Perhaps that's a great way to determine it, and to get my point across. Once the receiver makes a cut, he's no longer a potential blocker--regardless of position relative to the defenders.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 11:55am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
I would have a serious problem with a white hat who picks up my flag for DPI or OPI. He usually will not even see it occur if he is doing his job. He is wrong and in as good of way as possible you need to discuss it with him so he sees that. This is not a judgement thing, the rule book backs up your arguement and not his. The only judgement is if you think he has made his break to start his route or not.

I am the white hat on our crew and I'd never pick up a flag like that unless we discussed it as a group and someone else said they saw it differently and the official who made the call changes his mind. If he doesn't change his mind, and it is not a rule issue, but a judgement issue, his judgement is his flag and we will discuss it later to see if maybe his judgement was wrong. Now if he threw a flag and by rule it was not a foul, we will pick it up.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D
The key on this play is B51's position in relation to A7. If A7 is even with or behind B51, then it's illegal use of the hands. However, if A7 is between B51 and the line of scrimmage, he's fair game as B51 has a right to move up to make the play and clear out anyone who gets in his way. B51 is not sure if A7is a potential blocker or a potential receiver until he tips his hand by moving by of cutting away from B51. I'd have to see this play but I'd give B51 maybe a little more slack than some of the other posts might suggest.
No, the key on this play is the official's JUDGEMENT as to whether the player is running a pass route or not. Which, coincidentally, is what the rule says. If the official judges this player to be running a route and no longer a blocker, then he cannot be contacted in this manner.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2006, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niner
When he is blocker it is a running play until the pass is thrown. Anything else is flag-happy.
Please stop spreading this misconception. You've been told the proper ruling on what "no longer a blocker" means. If you still disagree, please ask your supervisor(s) or clinicians.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DPI or Illegal use of the hands? Suudy Football 4 Fri Nov 04, 2005 07:08am
Illegal Use of the Hands Suudy Football 16 Sat Oct 01, 2005 01:00pm
illegal hands to the face cippy Football 1 Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:57am
Illegal use of hands or nothing? Newbie Scott Football 3 Thu Sep 04, 2003 05:25pm
illegal hands and possession pitlord Football 5 Tue Oct 22, 2002 09:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1