The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 19, 2001, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
So, Ed, I respectfully challenge your call from above,
especially, since your situation fails the definition of
handing on two fronts:
1. There was no "transfer" of player possession but a
loss of player possession in which a loose ball ensued
(fumble)

Zeke, I had trouble with that myself. However, the ball remains in team possession. While the definition is clear on "transfer" you have to interpret the fact the handoff may be bobbled which is not explicitly provided in the definition, though may be implicit.

2. Even if we deemed that the ensuing loose ball
recovered by anyone was a "transfer" of player possession,
the transfer was not "from one player to a teammate" (from
definition 2-19-1). I would think that even if A32 forward
handed cleanly to B56, that would not be an illegal action
(not too bright of an action, though).

Correct. A32 handing to B56 transfers both team and player possession. Not illegal, dumb, but not illegal.

Consider if A32 attempted to hand the ball forward to A78 and it is fumbled. The ball continues to roll forward and is picked up by A16.

Will the attempted foward handing be ignored?
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1