The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to BigGref
Forces of Kick

I got a situation from last year that I would like to bring up again.

4th and 7 from A's own 15. A1 lines up to kick, recieves ball, kicks and is blocked by B1. Ball rebounds and comes to rest at A's 5 yd line.

Here comes a member of each team running toward the ball, Member of B gets there first and jumps on the ball causing it to go into the endzone, where A jumps on it and causes it to go out of the back of the endzone.

Who's ball, where, why? (with refererences if possible, thanks)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
If the ball was truely at rest, then it was the new force by team-B that put the ball into team-A's endzone not the kick. We don't even have to make a judgement call on that.

A's muff did not apply new force, therefore I go with a touchback with Team-A snapping from the A-20 1/10.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
NFHS Ruling

4th and 7 from A's own 15. A1 lines up to kick, recieves ball, kicks and is blocked by B1. Ball rebounds and comes to rest at A's 5 yd line.

Here comes a member of each team running toward the ball, Member of B gets there first and jumps on the ball causing it to go into the endzone, where A jumps on it and causes it to go out of the back of the endzone.


Touchback: 1st & 10 at the 20 for A (K).

8-5-1 Force: Responsibility for forcing the ball from the field of play across the goal line is attributed to the who carries, snaps, passes, fumbles or kicks the ball unless a NEW Force is applied to a GROUNDED backward pass, kick or fumble.

8-5-3b It is a touchback when: Any scrimmage kick or free kick becomes dead on or behind K's goal line with the ball in possession of K (including when the ball is declared dead with no player in possession) and the NEW FORCE is R's (B) muff or bat of the kick after it has touched the ground.

In your situation the ball is at rest. A new force has been applied to a grounded kick. In your scenerio B (R) has applied the force. When B(R) forced it into the endzone, you will either have a touchdown for B if they secure possession, or a touchback for A if they secure possession or the ball crosses the endline or the sideline and is declared dead in the endzone.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Same scenario except the ball is at rest beyond the NZ. What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
In NFHS, it's the same result (TB)--it doesn't matter if the ball is behind or beyond the neutral zone, nor does it matter if the grounded ball is at rest or not. In this situation, whoever muffs across the GL is responsible for it being in the EZ and a Safety or TB will be ruled based on that.

In NCAA, it's a little different. In order for a muff to be considered new force, a grounded ball must be a rest. Not only that, but it doesn't necessarily have to be a muff. Any contact (other than being blocked into the ball) creates new force, or 'impetus' as it's referred to in NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 06:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 25
NFHS Ruling

DJ

I may have a disagreement with you on your answer.

"In NFHS, it's the same result (TB)--it doesn't matter if the ball is behind or beyond the neutral zone, nor does it matter if the grounded ball is at rest or not. In this situation, whoever muffs across the GL is responsible for it being in the EZ and a Safety or TB will be ruled based on that."

You say that it doesn't matter if the ball is at rest, whoever muffs the ball across the goal line is responsible for it being in the endzone. This is only true "if in the judgement of the covering official the muff applied a NEW FORCE to the ball. IF the ball would have crossed the goal line on its own then the kick is considered the force wether it was muffed or not. If the official is unsure if the muff supplied a new force, then he will rule that the force was the kick and the result will be either a touchdown if R secures possession in the endzone or a Safety if K has possession and is downed in the endzone or the ball is declared dead behind the goal line with no one in possession.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 16, 2006, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: One additional comment...the fact that A jumped on the ball in the endzone which then squirted back over te endline is immaterial to the discussion of force. With force, all that matters is what caused the ball to pass from the field of play across the goal line. What happens to the ball after it enters the endzone is important, but is in no way a factor in determining force.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kick off yankeesfan Football 2 Sat Sep 03, 2005 09:50am
dribler forces contact zanzibar Basketball 20 Wed Jan 19, 2005 11:39pm
Kick off kkid091 Football 6 Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:22pm
Kick or no? ChuckElias Basketball 26 Mon Feb 16, 2004 01:20pm
Kick This! JMN Football 2 Fri Jan 10, 2003 01:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1